First Monday at Jordan Hall: Kurtág, Ligeti, Schumann

NEC: Jordan Hall | Directions

290 Huntington Ave.
Boston, MA
United States

Join us as we celebrate 38 years of First Mondays, curated by Artistic Director Laurence Lesser. Programs feature well-loved classics and new compositions, performed by some of the finest chamber musicians in the world, free and open to all. First Mondays are fresh and full of imaginative pairings of well-loved classics and new works, performed in one of the finest places on the planet to hear music of this caliber: NEC’s own Jordan Hall.

The Spring 2023 season of First Monday in Jordan Hall marks the 100th birth year of György Ligeti.

This is an in-person event with a private stream available to the NEC community here:

  1. György Kurtág | Hommage à R. Sch, op. 15d (1992)

    Merkwürdige Pirouetten des Kapellmeister Johannes Kreisler: Vivo
    E.: Der begrenzte Kreis... Molto semplice, piano e legato
    ...und wieder zuckt es schmerzlich F. um die Lippen ...Feroce, agitato
    Felhó valék, már süt a nap...(Töredék, töredék). Calmo, scorrevole
    In der Nacht: Presto
    Abshied (Meister Raro entdeckt Guillaume de Machaut). Adagio - Poco andante

  2. György Ligeti | String Quartet No. 2 (1968)

    Allegro nervoso
    Sostenuto, molto calmo
    Come un meccanismo di precisione
    Presto furioso, brutale, tumultuoso
    Allegro con delicatezza

    • Parker String Quartet
    • Daniel Chong and Ken Hamao, violin
    • Jessica Bodner, viola
    • Kee-Hyun Kim, cello
  3. Robert Schumann | Quintet in E-flat Major, op. 44

    Allegro brillante
    In modo d'una marcia: Un poco largamente
    Scherzo: Molto vivace
    Allegro ma non troppo