News from NEC alumni and faculty members Dave Douglas, Dominique Eade, Simón Willson, Sara Serpa, Satoko Fujii, Bruce Brubaker, Precious Perez, and the Alinéa Ensemble.
Freddy Cole with Ken Schaphorst on the Jordan Hall stage
NEC mourns the loss of Freddy Cole ’56, hon. DM ’12, an internationally beloved jazz pianist and vocalist and multiple Grammy nominee.
NEC alumni, students, and faculty win Live Arts Boston grants, perform music in support of COVID-19 and Black Lives Matter, and are featured in the New York Times, Downbeat, the Financial Times, and more.
NEC Prep Class of 2020 Celebration caption with black and white photos of Prep string players
NEC Prep honored the graduating class of 2020 in an online ceremony featuring words from Rebecca Bogers, President Andrea Kalyn, Haley Kwoun, Yo-Yo Ma, and NEC Prep faculty, as well as performances by the Youth Philharmonic Orchestra.
President Kalyn discusses upcoming next steps in collaboration with the Black Student Union and Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Task Force, and addresses the Juneteenth letter from the NEC Progressive Alumni Coalition.
A letter from the NEC Progressive Alumni Coalition regarding racial justice and policies and practices at NEC.
Read about the first set of actions NEC has taken over the past week, including the hiring of Stanford Thompson as Special Advisor to the President.
NEC stands in solidarity with our Black students, faculty, staff, alumni, friends, and the entire Black community.
Gabriela Martina smiles and holds a wine glass while sitting down to dinner in her home. On screen is a fellow musician with whom she is virtually sharing the meal.
After her “Homage to Grämlis” tour was cancelled due to COVID-19, Gabriela Martina ’21 MM created the Dinner With My Neighbor series to stay connected and “just be there for somebody.”