How to Apply

Thank you for your interest in NEC. We are fortunate to have many of the world's best young musicians apply here each year; we hope you are one of them!

Applications for fall (September) admission must be submitted by December 1. Most programs require a prescreening recording as described in our Audition Requirements. Applications for spring (January) admission are accepted on a space-available basis. Students interested in January entry should contact us about anticipated openings before submitting an application.

Please see detailed information for:

Undergraduate Applicants

Graduate Applicants

Request Information

NEC Community Video

Contact Us

Please reach out to us at 617-585-1101 or admission@necmusic.edu

For specific questions about your intended major, please contact the Admissions team member for your program:

Alex Powell, Dean of Admissions and Financial Aid
alex.powell@necmusic.edu  617-585-1103

Lauren Urbanek, Associate Dean for Financial Aid
lauren.urbanek@necmusic.edu  617-585-1113

General Inquiries and Tours
Julia Nadeau, Campus Visit Coordinator
admissions@necmusic.edu  617-585-1101

Brass, Woodwinds, Percussion
Emily Cox, Assistant Director of Admissions and Financial Aid
emily.cox@necmusic.edu  617-585-1114

Jazz, Contemporary Improvisation
Shanell Percy, Admissions and Financial Aid Counselor
shanell.percy@necmusic.edu  617-585-1105

Piano, Collaborative Piano, Piano Chamber Music, Piano Trio Program,
Composition, Theory, Musicology

Claire Paik, Assistant Director of Admissions and Financial Aid
claire.paik@necmusic.edu  617-585-1102

Strings, Conducting, String Quartet Program
Zach Schwartz, Assistant Director of Admissions and Financial Aid
zach.schwartz@necmusic.edu  617-585-1104

Vocal Performance, Vocal Pedagogy, Opera
Kimberly Ouellette, Admissions and Financial Aid Counselor
kimberly.ouellette@necmusic.edu  617-585-1111

 

NEC does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, age, national or ethnic origin, sexual orientation, physical or mental disability, or veteran status in the administration of its educational policies, admission policies, employment policies, scholarship and loan programs, or other Conservatory-sponsored activities.