Academic Calendar

When do classes start? When is the school closed? View the current semester's academic calendar, or download a PDF of current and previous years.


COVID-19 Operational Changes

The staff of the Office of Student Services are currently working from home and will remain to do so until we are notified that we are able to return to campus. Although our physical office space is closed, you can still reach the staff by their email addresses or email Student.Services@necmusic.edu to get any questions answered. We are still working standard business hours from home (Monday-Friday from 9:00-12:00 and 1:00-5:00 EDT.) As we are experiencing an increase in emails, please be patient for a response. We will get back to you as quickly as possible. Be safe and be creative.


 

Fall 2020

Due to COVID-19, all dates contained in the 2020-2021 Academic Calendar are subject to change. 

Date Item
Saturday, August 29-Tuesday, September 1 Residence Hall opens for all new students
Friday, September 4 Registration for new students
Sunday, September 5-Tuesday, September 8 Residence Hall opens for returning students
Monday, September 7 Labor Day (holiday)
Tuesday, September 8 First day of instruction at Tufts University
Wednesday, September 9

Convocation
First day of fall term instruction at New England Conservatory
Special Student applications accepted

Wednesday, September 9 - Friday, September 18 Time period to add or drop courses
Monday, September 21 First day to withdraw from courses
Monday, October 5 - Tuesday, November 24 Academic Advising and Registration for Spring 2021
Friday, October 9 Last day to withdraw from 7-week courses ending on or before October 23
Monday, October 12 Indigenous Peoples Day (holiday)
Tuesday, November 10 Last day to withdraw from 11-week courses
Tuesday, November 24 Intent to graduate deadline for December 2020 graduates
Last day to withdraw from 14-week courses
Wednesday, November 25- Sunday, November 29 Thanksgiving Holiday
Friday, December 11 Last day of instruction at Tufts University
Friday, December 18 Last day of instruction at New England Conservatory
Monday, December 21 - Tuesday, December 22 Examination Period

 

Spring 2021

Due to COVID-19, all dates contained in the 2020-2021 Academic Calendar are subject to change. 

Date Item
Monday, January 18 Martin Luther King Day (holiday)
Tuesday, January 19

First day of spring term instruction at New England Conservatory
Special Student applications

Monday, January 19 – Tuesday, January 26 Time period to add or drop courses
Wednesday, January 27 First day to withdraw from courses
Friday, February 12 - Tuesday, February 16 Presidents’ Day Recess (no classes held Friday-Tuesday)
Friday, February 19 Intent to graduate deadline for May 2021 graduates
Saturday, March 20 - Sunday, March 28 New England Conservatory and Tufts Spring Vacation
Monday, March 29 - Wednesday, April 28 Academic Advising and Registration for Fall 2021
Wednesday, April 7 Alternate Class Day: Follow Monday Schedule
Thursday, April 23* Possible Alternate Snow Day Schedule (only if needed)*
Friday, April 23 Last day to withdraw from classes
Monday, May 3 Last day of instruction at Tufts University
Friday, May 7 Last day of instruction at New England Conservatory
Monday, May 10 - Wednesday, May 12 Final examination period
Thursday, May 13 - Sunday, May 16 Pre-promotional period
Monday, May 17 - Friday, May 21 Promotional evaluations
Saturday, May 22 Commencement Concert
Sunday, May 23 New England Conservatory and Tufts Commencement
Monday, May 24 Residence Hall closes (12:00 Noon)
Monday, May 31 Memorial Day (holiday)

*Possible Snow Day replacement schedule; to be determined before March 15, 2021.

2020-2021 Academic Calendar

2020-2021 Academic Calendar

Front door of the Student Life and Performance Center with the words New England Conservatory visible above the doors.
2019-2020 Academic Calendar

2019-2020 Academic Calendar