NEC Saxophone Ensemble: The Eternal Enigma

The NEC Saxophone Ensemble, directed by Kenneth Radnofsky, presents a program of Mozart, Pärt, Tchesnokov, and Elgar. Megan Dillon '21 DMA is the arranger of the Mozart, Tchesnokov, and Elgar.

Watch Live Stream from Jordan Hall:

About Megan Dillon

Megan Dillon is a saxophonist and music theorist in the Boston area. After graduating from Interlochen Arts Academy, she studied at Texas Tech University where she achieved a bachelor's degree in music theory and minor in French. She then went on to study under Kenneth Radnofsky and Roger Graybill at New England Conservatory, earning two master's degrees in saxophone performance and music theory, with a concentration in music-in-education. She currently works as a Teaching Assistant for the saxophone studio, music theory, and Music-In-Education department and is a member of the Huntington Quartet. She is continuing her studies at New England Conservatory towards a Doctor of Musical Arts degree in Saxophone Performance. She is a member of the North American Saxophone Alliance and has performed at NASA regional conferences, the World Saxophone Congress, and premiered many works by new composers.

  • NEC Saxophone Ensemble
  1. W. A. Mozart (arr. Megan Dillon) | Lacrimosa from Requiem Mass in D Minor, K. 626

    Mozart’s final piece remained unfinished at the time of his death. Lacrimosa is the last part of the Sequentia, following the Kyrie. The lugubrious and chromatic violin (soprano 2) ostinato is paired with the haunting vocal melody, together creating the mournful setting.


    Lacrimosa dies illa
    Qua resurget ex favilla
    Judicandus homo reus.
    Huic ergo parce, Deus:
    Pie Jesu Domine,
    Dona eis requiem. Amen
    Full of tears will be that day
    When from the ashes shall arise
    The guilty man to be judged;
    Therefore, spare him, O God,
    Merciful Lord Jesus,
    Grant them eternal rest.  Amen
  2. Arvo Pärt | Fratres (1977)

    Fratres (Brothers) is a work by Estonian composer Arvo Pärt without fixed instrumentation. Pärt’s three-part composition separated by a recurring drone, captures that ‘the instant and eternity are struggling within us.’ 

  3. Arvo Pärt | Da pacem, Domine (2004)

    Da Pacem Domine (Give peace, Lord), originally written as a choral piece, was composed two days after the 2004 Madrid train bombings, in memory of the victims. There have been many versions of various instrumentation produced since. 

  4. Pavel Tchesnokov (arr. Megan Dillon) | Salvation is Created (1912)

    Salvation is Created is a choral piece from Tchesnokov’s Ten Communion Hymns, op. 25. This was his last sacred work before the Soviet government suppressed Christianity. The text is based on Psalm 74, with the text as follows:


    Cпасение coдeлaл еси 
    посреде земли, Боже. 
    Salvation is created,
    in midst of the earth,
    O God, O our God. Alleluia.
  5. Edward Elgar (arr. Megan Dillon) | Nimrod from Enigma Variations, op. 36 (1898)

    This variation was written for Elgar’s friend and publisher Augustus Jaeger. Nimrod is described in the Old Testament as a ‘mighty hunter before the Lord;’ this being a play on Jaeger’s name, as Jaeger is German for hunter. The opening theme suggests Beethoven’s second movement of the Pathétique Piano Sonata, the theme of which Jaeger once sang to Elgar. This piece represents the hope that his friend provided during a dark period of Elgar’s life.

    • Megan Dillon, soprano saxophone 1
    • Rayna DeYoung, alto saxophone, soprano saxophone 2
    • Alexis Aguilar, tenor saxophone, alto saxophone
    • Jordan Roach, tenor saxophone
    • Lila Searls, baritone saxophone
    • Juchen Wang, baritone saxophone