Sonata Night XXXVI: Poulenc & Coleridge-Taylor

Under the direction of NEC faculty Pei-Shan Lee, Sonata Night features collaborative pianists partnering with their instrumental colleagues in an evening of piano-instrumental masterworks.

Sonata, a musical term of several meanings, is used here as a duo form of equal partnership that spans a wide range of musical styles. Sonata Night programming features the world's greatest duo sonatas from the Baroque through the 20th century, as well as duo works in other compositional forms, such as a multi-movement suites or character pieces.

Sonata Night performers are coached jointly by faculty from the Collaborative Piano and various instrumental departments.

Watch Live Stream from Burnes Hall:

  • Dayoung Rachel Lim, violin
  • JaKyoung Huh, cello
  • Yu-Shin Liou and Kyunga Lee, piano
  • Pei-Shan Lee, director
  1. Francis Poulenc | Sonata for Cello and Piano, FP 143


    • Jakyoung Olivia Huh, cello
    • Kyunga Lee, piano
  2. Samuel Coleridge-Taylor | Four African Dances, op. 58

    Andantino molto sostenuto e dolce
    Allegro con brio
    Allegro energico

    • Dayoung Rachel Lim, violin
    • Yu-Shin Liou, piano
  3. The Sonata Night series is jointly coached by faculty of the Collaborative Piano and various instrumental departments.

    Thank you to the following for helping to prepare tonight’s program:

    Soovin Kim

    Pei-Shan Lee
    Laurence Lesser
    Vivian Hornik Weilerstein