Sonata Night 37: Mozart, Saint-Saëns, & Brahms

NEC: Burnes Hall | Directions

255 St. Botolph St.
Boston, MA
United States

Under the direction of NEC faculty pianist Pei-Shan Lee, Sonata Night is an evening of piano-instrumental masterworks featuring collaborative pianists in partnership with their instrumental colleagues.

Sonata, a musical term of several meanings, is used here to signify a duo form of equal partnership. Sonata Night programming spans a wide range of musical styles and features the world's greatest duo works from the Baroque through the 20th century, including compositional forms such as multi-movement suites and character pieces.

Sonata Night performers are coached jointly by faculty of the collaborative piano and instrumental departments. Highlights of the 2021-22 season include an all-Stravinsky concert and Mozart’s complete sonatas for piano four-hands.

This performance is open to in-person audiences, and can also be viewed below via livestream.

Watch livestream from Burnes Hall:

  1. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart | Sonata in D Major for Piano Four Hands, K. 381

    Allegro molto

  2. Camille Saint-Saëns | Sonata in D Major for Oboe and Piano, op. 166

    Ad libitum - Allegretto - Ad libitum
    Molto allegro

    • Kip Zimmerman, oboe
    • Gayoung Park, piano
  3. Johannes Brahms | Sonata No. 3 in D Minor for Piano and Violin, Op. 108

    Un poco presto e con sentimento
    Presto agitato

    • SooBeen Lee, violin
    • Kyunga Lee, piano