Recital: Qiyan Xing '24 MM, Violin

NEC: Keller Room | Directions

290 Huntington Ave.
Boston, MA
United States

  • Qiyan Xing '24 MM, violin
  • Pin-Han Huang, Sujin Choi, and Loren Kim, piano
  • Soovin Kim, studio teacher
  1. Jean Sibelius | Five Pieces for Violin and Piano, op. 81


    Program note

    The program begins with Sibelius’s collection of five short pieces, each representing a type of dance. The Mazurka begins with a short cadenza material in D minor, soon shifts to D major with a playfulness in the tone and use of harmonics. After a short repetition of the previous section, the recap of the opening thematic material is played. The piece closes with a perfect authentic cadence in D minor.  
         The Rondino is written in D Major, played in sotto voce. The soft tone connects memories from the past, distant from the present, representing a period of time of happiness. 
         We see the Waltz begins with a short solo for introduction leading to the main melody played in sotto voce, depicts a sweetest dream in memory. 
         Aubade and Menuetto are two pieces that brings a listener’s attention to the present and perhaps depicting the ordinary life that looks forward to the foreseeable future, in the tone of nostalgia.  
    • Pin-Han Huang, piano
  2. Eleanor Alberga | No-Man's-Land Lullaby (1997)


    Program note

    Eleanor Alberga composed No-Man’s-Land Lullaby in 1997. She was inspired by articles and poems about the first World War. The piece is written without key signature, and has constant change in meter. Perhaps it sets up a detachment in the tonality and uniformity in rhythm, focusing on the tone and sound, while exploring the freedom of complex possibilities in the combination of rhythmic patterns. 

    • Sujin Choi, piano

  4. Maurice Ravel | Violin Sonata No. 1 in A Minor, "Sonata posthume"


    Program note

    Ravel’s Sonate Posthume was written while he was still a student; it is one of his earliest work written for violin and piano, though it was published 38 years after his death. The movement is written in A minor, depicts dream in different spaces, from the empty void to the shadows in blurred scenes and colors that are impossible to define. 

    • Loren Kim, piano
  5. Johannes Brahms | Violin Sonata No. 1 in G Major, op. 78

    Vivace ma non troppo
    Allegro molto moderato

    Program note

    Brahms Violin Sonata No.1 in G major, op.78 has three movements, each representing a stage in time and character. In the first movement, we see a difference in colors between the first and second thematic material in G major and D major. After a series of suspensions in piano, the music brings to the recap. After the shortened first theme, the second theme is stated in the tonic key of G major. The movement reaches to a strong closure after an expansion in the cadence of G major. 
         In the second and the third movement, each movement has a different approach to examine time in the music. The slow movement exclaims every detail in the color and the sound, while the last movement begins in G minor, zooms out our focus from the sound into a large horizon. The motion is relentlessly moving forward, anxiously reaching for a cadence and resolution. The fast movement closes unexpectedly in G major, showing the brightest and surreal depiction of the sun, out of the shadows from the darkness.
    • Pin-Han Huang, piano
  6. I want to express my gratitude to family, friends, and Mr. Kim, for being supportive to me in the past years.

    I want to thank Pin-Han, Sujin, and Loren for making this recital possible.

    Thank you all for spending such a meaningful time with me!