NEC Philharmonia + Hugh Wolff: Frank, Lutosławski, Rachmaninoff

NEC: Jordan Hall | Directions

290 Huntington Ave.
Boston, MA
United States

NEC Philharmonia, Hugh Wolff conductor, perform Gabriela Lena Frank's Escaramuza, Lutosławski's Cello Concerto with cello soloist Leland Ko '24 AD, and Rachmaninoff's Symphonic Dances.

This is an in-person event with a private stream available to the NEC community here:

  • Leland Ko '24 AD, cello
  1. Gabriela Lena Frank | Escaramuza (2010)

    Program note

    Escaramuza, which signifies "skirmish" in the Spanish language, is inspired by the kachampa music of Andean Perú. Celebrating the pre-Hispanic Inca warrior, the kachampa dance is executed by athletic men who convey a triumphant, even joyful, spirit. Inspired by the kachampa dances done with fast-snapping ropes that I've witnessed in Perú, especially in Paucartambo during the Virgen de la Carmen festival, I've created a brightly chiseled romp in an asymmetrical 7/8 rhythm that is launched after an extended bass drum solo. Through most of Escaramuza, no section of the ensemble is allowed to rest for long, maintaining the high energy typical of kachampas.
    - Gabriela Lena Frank

  2. Witold Lutosławski | Concerto for Cello and Orchestra (1970)

    played without pause

    Four Episodes

    • Leland Ko, '24 AD, cello

  4. Sergei Rachmaninoff | Symphonic Dances, op. 45

    Non allegro
    Andante con moto: Tempo di valse
    Lento assai - Allegro vivace