NEC Chamber Orchestra: Haydn, Stravinsky, Rózsa

NEC: Jordan Hall | Directions

290 Huntington Ave.
Boston, MA
United States

The NEC Chamber Orchestra was created to provide the students with an opportunity to apply the principals of chamber music in a small orchestral setting.  The participants are chosen by audition at the beginning of the academic year and remain together throughout. As the ensemble rehearses and performs without a conductor, leadership responsibilities are rotated for every work performed. This affords the students an opportunity to develop communication skills, take responsibility for musical decisions and broaden their aural and score reading capabilities. Participation in the program also allows them to explore a wide range of the incredibly rich chamber orchestra literature.

Donald Palma is artistic director.


This is an in-person event with a private stream available to the NEC community here:

  1. Franz Joseph Haydn | Symphony No. 6, Hob. 1/6 "Le Matin"

    Adagio - Allegro
    Adagio - Andante
    Menuet e Trio
    Finale: Allegro

  2. Igor Stravinsky | Concerto in D, "Basle"

    Arioso: Andantino
    Rondo: Allegro

  3. Miklós Rózsa | Concerto for Strings, op. 17

    Moderato, ma risoluto ed energico
    Lento con gran espressione
    Allegro giusto