Beethoven's Complete Works for Piano: Part VII

Is Beethoven’s music great? How do we know? Piano department chair Bruce Brubaker encourages curious concertgoers to celebrate and reconsider Beethoven’s music and legacy.

75 NEC pianists present every work for piano that Beethoven ever wrote over the course of 13 recitals in spring and fall 2020. Hear well-known favorites like the “Moonlight” Sonata alongside rarely-performed works and decide for yourself: what does Beethoven mean today?

A virtuoso pianist himself, Beethoven composed dozens of works for the fortepiano, often making use of the new musical resources of the instrument as it developed rapidly throughout the composer’s lifetime. Approximately 1/3 of each concert program will feature rarely performed sets of variations that may offer insight into Beethoven’s own performances as an improviser.

The NEC Piano Department dedicates this Beethoven 2020 project to Distinguished Artist-in-Residence Russell Sherman who celebrates his ninetieth birthday in 2020.  Mr. Sherman was the first American musician to record all of Beethoven’s piano sonatas and concertos. He has been a member of the New England Conservatory faculty since 1967.


Beethoven's Complete Works for Piano:

View the full series


  2. Two Preludes through all twelve major keys, op. 39 (1789)

    • Xiaoye Wei, piano
  3. Twenty-four variations on Vincenzo Righini's aria "Vieni amore", WoO 65

    • Yutong Sun, piano
  4. Sonata No. 19 in G Minor, op. 49 no. 1 (1797)

    I. Andante
    II. Allegro

    • Ziang Yin, piano
  5. Sonata No. 20 in G Major, op. 49 no. 2 (1795-96)

    I. Allegro ma non troppo
    II. Tempo di Menuetto

    • Tracy Tang, piano
  6. Sonata No. 25 in G Major, op 79 (1809)

    I. Presto alla tedesca
    II. Andante
    III. Vivace

    • ZhuoYa Zhu, piano
  7. Sonata No. 24 in F-sharp Major ("À Thérèse"), op. 78 (1809)

    I. Adagio cantabile - Allegro ma non troppo
    II. Allegro vivace

    • Boyi Fa, piano
  8. Sonata quasi una fantasia in C-sharp Minor ("Moonlight"), op. 27 no. 2

    I. Adagio sostenuto
    II. Allegretto
    III. Presto agitato

    • SongHyeon Kim, piano