Instant Encore

Did you miss this concert? Were you there and would like to hear it again—because once is not enough? You're in luck—NEC has made it available at InstantEncore. To play or download the performances, click here—there are no fees involved. You will need to have or create an account to complete the process. Your account will also allow you to receive notifications of future concerts.

Now in her first year as an Artist Diploma candidate, Yoojin Jang received her Master of Music in 2012 and her Graduate Diploma in 2013 studying with Miriam Fried at NEC. Performing since the age of nine, she has appeared in her native Korea with such top Korean orchestras as the KBS symphony Orchestra and the Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra. More recently, she has performed with Ivan Fischer and the Budapest Festival Orchestra; the Exremadura Orchestra led by Jesus Amigo at The Teatro de la Maestranza in Seville; the Kioi Sinfonietta Tokyo in the Hoam Art Center New Year’s Concert; at the Seoul Spring Festival of Chamber Music; and as guest artist with the Borromeo String Quartet in Jordan Hall.

In 2013, Yoojin was awarded 1st Prize in the prestigious Munetsugu Angel Competition, for which she received loan of the 1697 “Rainville” Stradivari violin for the next two years. She has also been a prize winner in numerous other competitions including the 2004 Yehudi Menuhin Competition (3rd Prize); the Seoul International Music Competition (4h Prize in 2009); and the Michael Hill International Violin Competition in New Zealand (2nd Prize; Audience Award; Best Performance of a Commissioned Work).

In her recital tonight, she partners with pianist Renana Gutman except in the opening work where she is joined by harpsichordist John Gibbons.

The program:

Biber: Sonata representativa, for Violin and Continuo in A Major, C. 146
John Gibbons, harpsichord

John Corigliano: Sonata for Violin and Piano
I. Allegro
II. Andantino
III. Lento
IV. Allegro

Karol Szymanowski:Mythes, op.30 for violin and piano
 I. La Fontaine d'Arethuse
II. Narcisse
III. Dryades et Pan

Ludwig van Beethoven: Violin Sonata No. 10 in G Major , op.96
I. Allegro moderato
II. Adagio espressivo
III. Scherzo: Allegro
IV. Poco allegretto

Date: April 24, 2014 - 8:00:PM
Price: Free
Location: NEC’s Jordan Hall

Share with a friend!

Are you an NEC faculty member or student who is giving a school concert? Submit your artist and repertoire information now!

NEC's FREE concerts do not require a ticket, unless stated in concert listing.
Unreserved seating is available on a first-come, first-served basis.
Doors open 30 minutes prior to the concert's start time.