Are you looking for a springboard for your group to become a permanent, professional ensemble? Are you ready for a showcase performance in NEC's Jordan Hall—one of the world's top concert halls?

The bonds you form with your colleagues in an NEC Honors Ensemble may lead to staying together for the remainder of your studies at NEC—or you may find or confirm a life-long vocation through this program. (Find past Honors Ensembles here.)

Groups that exhibit both extraordinary accomplishment and a commitment to work together are encouraged to audition midway through fall semester for NEC's Honors Ensemble program. An outside panel of jurors reviews classical chamber music groups. NEC faculty select jazz and "wild card" groups. The groups selected through this process become NEC Honors Ensembles for the remainder of the school year, during which time they receive special mentoring and the guarantee of a Jordan Hall recital.

2016–2017 Honors Ensembles

Judges this year for the classical ensembles were Geralyn Coticone, Terry Everson, Ya-Fei Chuang, Bayla Keyes, and Laura Blustein; for jazz, Ken Schaphorst and Brian Levy; and for the Wild Card ensemble, Hankus Netsky, Eden MacAdam-Somer, Ken Schaphorst, and Anthony Coleman.

Amici Quintet

Richard Ranti, faculty coach

Jisun Oh, flute
Elizabeth O'Neil, oboe
Matthew Griffith, clarinet
Kai Rocke, bassoon
Andrew Bass, horn

Child Clown

(Jazz Honors Ensemble)

Ted Reichman, faculty coach

Max Light, guitar
Simón Willson, bass guitar
Eladio Rojas, drums

2017-03-27 Jordan Hall concert

Chroma Quartet

Paul Biss, faculty coach

So-Young Choi, Luther Warren, violin
Dadmehr "Damon" Taheri, viola
Jamie Clark, cello

Honors Piano Quartet

Meng-Chieh Liu, faculty coach

Kyle Orth, piano
Ji-Won Song, violin
Jiali Li, viola
Zi Wang, cello

Honors String Quartet 1

Yeesun Kim, faculty coach

Gergana Haralampieva, Geneva Lewis, violin
Zhanbo Zheng, viola
Audrey Chen, cello

Honors Wind Trio

Thomas Novak, faculty coach

Nicole Caligiuri, oboe
Stefan Van Sant, clarinet
Andrea Baker, bassoon

Wild Card Honors Ensemble

Winifred Horan, faculty coach

Lily Honigberg, Chris Overholser, fiddle
McKinley James, cello
Zach Mayer, baritone saxophone
Sunniva Brynnel, accordion
Julian Loida, percussion

2017-03-27 Jordan Hall concert