Artists: Xu Guo (Piano), So-Young Kim (Piano), Siqian Li (Piano), Yi Ding (Piano), Yuting Ma (Piano), JiSeon Chang (Piano), Aristo Sham (Piano), David Horton (Piano), Richard Rivale (Piano), Wesley Chu (Piano)

Of 20th-century composers of concert music, Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953) left pianists with one of the more substantial bodies of work in traditional showcase formats: five piano concertos and nine piano sonatas, along with suites and other short-form works for solo piano.

In two Jordan Hall concerts, January 28 and February 1, NEC piano students will celebrate Prokofiev's 125th anniversary with performances of all nine sonatas along with other solo piano works.

Instant EncoreDid you miss this concert? Were you there and would like to hear it again—because once is not enough? You're in luck—NEC has made it available at InstantEncore. To play or download the performances, click here—there are no fees involved. You will need to have or create an account to complete the process. Your account will also allow you to receive notifications of future concerts.

Share with a friend!



Prokofiev: Etudes (4) for Piano, Op. 2
Etude no 1 in D minor
Etude no 2 in E minor
So-Young Kim (Piano)

Prokofiev: Etudes (4) for Piano, Op. 2
Etude no 3 in C minor
Etude no 4 in C minor
Siqian Li (Piano)

Prokofiev: Sonata for Piano no 4 in C minor, Op. 29
Allegro molto sostenuto
Andante assai
Allegro con brio, ma non leggiero
Yi Ding (Piano)

Prokofiev: Sonata for Piano no 9 in C major, Op. 103
Allegro strepitoso
Andante tranquillo
Allegro con brio, ma non troppo presto
JiSeon Chang (Piano)

Prokofiev: Toccata, Op. 11
Aristo Sham (Piano)

Prokofiev: Visions fugitives (20) for Piano, Op. 22
Visions fugitives no 1: Lentamente
Visions fugitives no 2: Andante
Visions fugitives no 3: Allegretto
Visions fugitives no 4: Animato
Visions fugitives no 5: Molto giocoso
Visions fugitives no 6: Con eleganza
Visions fugitives no 7: Pittoresco
Visions fugitives no 8: Commodo
Visions fugitives no 9: Allegretto tranquillo
Visions fugitives no 10: Ridicolosamente
Visions fugitives no 11: Con vivacità
Visions fugitives no 12: Assai moderato
Visions fugitives no 13: Allegretto
Visions fugitives no 14: Feroce
Visions fugitives no 15: Inquieto
Visions fugitives no 16: Dolente
Visions fugitives no 17: Poetico
Visions fugitives no 18: Con una dolce lentezza
Visions fugitives no 19: Presto agitatissimo e molto accentuato
Visions fugitives no 20: Lento irrealmente
David Horton (Piano)

Prokofiev: Sonata for Piano no 2 in D minor, Op. 14
Allegro ma non troppo
Scherzo: Allegro marcato
Richard Rivale (Piano)

Prokofiev: Sonata for Piano no 7 in B flat major, Op. 83
Allegro inquieto - Andantino
Andante caloroso
Wesley Chu (Piano)

Date: January 28, 2016 - 7:30PM

Price: Free

Location: NEC's Jordan Hall

Are you an NEC faculty member or student who is giving a school concert? Submit your artist and repertoire information now!

NEC's FREE concerts do not require a ticket, unless stated in concert listing. Unreserved seating is available on a first-come, first-served basis. Doors open 30 minutes prior to the concert's start time.