Skip to main content

SICPP Concerts in Jordan: Night I

| New England Conservatory: Jordan Hall

Welcome to NEC's Summer Institute for Contemporary Performance Practice (SICPP): 8 days and nights of explosive new music! This year features Composer-in-Residence Julian Anderson.

The SICPP experience is intense and demanding—each day is filled with masterclasses, lessons, colloquia, and rehearsals. Nearly every day is topped off by an incredible evening concert given by SICPP faculty, special guest artists Allen Otte and Mark Menzies, and Ensemble-in-Residence the Callithumpian Consort. Concerts will also festure works by Julian Anderson.

SICPP was started at New England Conservatory in the late 1990s by Artistic Director Stephen Drury as an intensive performance seminar on music of the 20th century. SICPP is now a full-blown annual chamber music festival focused on works of the 20th and 21st centuries.

All evening concerts start at 8pm in Jordan Hall, and take place from June 17-22.

The festival concludes every year with the Iditarod concert; a marathon of performances by the SICPP participants and faculty. The Iditarod starts in the afternoon of June 23, and goes well into the night!

For more information about SICPP, please visit


  1. Transit for piano and video (2009)

    Composer: Michel Van der Aa

    Artists: Louis Goldstein

  2. Liaisons (1958)

    Composer: Roman Haubenstock-Ramati

    Artists: Scott Deal, Stuart Gerber

  3. Husk, with aura (2015)

    • "I dreamed of the dead..."
    • Tremors
    • Starkness
    • "The lost return to us..."

    Composer: John Mallia

    Artists: Scott Deal

  4. Words/Echoes (2005)

    Composer: Mathew Rosenblum

    Artists: Stuart Gerber

  5. Makrokosmos I "12 Fantasy Pieces after the Zodiac"

    • Primeval Sounds (Genesis I) (Cancer)
    • Proteus (Pisces)
    • Pastorale (from the Kingdom of Atlantis, ca. 10,000 B.C.) (Taurus)
    • Crucifixus (Capricorn)
    • The Phantom Gondolier (Scorpio)
    • Night-Spell I (Sagittarius)
    • Music of Shadows (for Aeolian Harp) (Libra)
    • The Magic Circle of Infinity (Moto Perpetuo) (Leo)
    • The Abyss of Time (Virgo)
    • Spring-Fire (Aries)
    • Dream Images (Love-Death Music) (Gemini)
    • Spiral Galaxy (Aquarius)

    Composer: George Crumb

    Artists: Stephen Drury