Skip to main content

Board of Trustees

NEC’s Trustees are a select group of supporters who advocate for NEC’s cultural and educational mission, objective, standing in the community, and general well being. The Board oversees the Administration, led by the President, as it establishes the mission for the institution, determines corresponding strategies and policies, and from time to time revises the long-range plan.

The Board of Trustees is responsible for governing the resources of the institution, including the evaluation and approval of an annual budget, the investment results of the endowment, fundraising successes and challenges, member nominations, and the academic results and standing of the institution.

NEC Board of Trustees 2017 - 2018
Kennett F. Burnes, Chair
Thomas W. Blumenthal, Vice Chair and Treasurer
Peter C. Erichsen, Secretary
Thomas Novak, Interim President
Elected Trustees
Clinton J. Bajakian ’87
Enid L. Beal
Deborah Bennett Elfers '82
Alan P. Ett ’78 M.M.
Corinne Ferguson
Timothy Fulham
Barbara W. Glauber
Eric A. Gray
Saj-nicole A. Joni
Justin Lindsey
John M. Loder
Thomas B. McGrath
Patrick M. Prevost
Peter Ross
Sally L. Rubin
Chad T. Smith '95, '98
Thurmond Smithgall ’71
Michael Thonis
Frances Bolton Wilmerding
Joan H. Yogg, Chair, Board of Overseers
Life Trustees

Joseph L. Bower
Barbara de Bragança
Carroll L. Cabot
Gene D. Dahmen
Stephen Friedlaender
Samuel L. Hayes III
Carol T. Henderson
John L. Hornor ’53 ’55 M.M. ’57 A.D.
Richard P. Morse

Katharine M. Pell
Harold I. Pratt '17 hon. D.M.
David W. Scudder ’03 hon. D.M.
Wendy Shattuck ’75
Norton Q. Sloan
Prudence L. Steiner
James L. Terry ’93 hon. D.M.
Jack H. Vernon