Board of Trustees

NEC’s Trustees are a select group of supporters who advocate for NEC’s cultural and educational mission, objective, standing in the community, and general well being. The Board oversees the Administration, led by the President, as it establishes the mission for the institution, determines corresponding strategies and policies, and from time to time revises the long-range plan.

The Board of Trustees is responsible for governing the resources of the institution, including the evaluation and approval of an annual budget, the investment results of the endowment, fundraising successes and challenges, member nominations, and the academic results and standing of the institution.

NEC Board of Trustees 2019 - 2020
Kennett F. Burnes, Chair

Thomas W. Blumenthal, Vice Chair

John M. Loder, Secretary

Elizabeth Dionne, Treasurer
Andrea Kalyn, President
Elected Trustees

Nikolaos Athanasiou ‘01
Clinton J. Bajakian ’87 
Anne Bartlett
Enid L. Beal
Deborah Bennett Elfers '82
Corinne Ferguson
Timothy Fulham
Barbara W. Glauber
Edwin D. Graves, Jr. '87

Eric A. Gray
Blair Hendrix
Saj-nicole A. Joni
Margaret Nichols
Patrick M. Prevost
Sally Rubin
Chad T. Smith '95, '98
Michael Thonis
Frances Bolton Wilmerding

Life Trustees

Joseph L. Bower ’18 hon. D.M.
Barbara de Bragança
Carroll L. Cabot
Gene D. Dahmen
Stephen Friedlaender
Samuel L. Hayes III
Carol T. Henderson
John L. Hornor ’53 ’55 M.M. ’57 A.D.
Richard P. Morse

Katharine M. Pell
Harold I. Pratt '17 hon. D.M.
David W. Scudder ’03 hon. D.M.
Wendy Shattuck ’75
Norton Q. Sloan
Prudence L. Steiner
James L. Terry ’93 hon. D.M.
Jack H. Vernon