NEC Summer Session 2016

School of Continuing Education Opera Studio

Daniel Wyneken, Chair & Music Director
Janice Giampa, Stage Director

REGISTER FOR CREDIT
REGISTER NON-CREDIT
REGISTER AUDITOR

Participants: The School of Continuing Education Opera Studio offers an exciting opportunity for serious singers to receive operatic and stage training in the standard operatic repertoire. This three-week intensive program offers musical coaching and scene preparation, acting and movement, aria staging, and audition techniques, culminating in two public performances of opera scenes at New England Conservatory.

Auditions: Sunday May 22, 2016 from 2-5pm: Two memorized arias are required. Contact Daniel Wyneken at 617-298-0269 for more information and to schedule an audition.

Auditors: (No audition required) are invited to observe all class activities, rehearsals, and performances. They are not given scene assignments, however and do not perform.

 

Tuition & Registration

Tuition: 2 CE credits: $1350

Full participants (Non-Credit): $895   NEC College Students: $725*

Auditors (Non-credit): $375

 

Plus $40 NEC registration fee

*DO NOT proceed with registration until you have auditioned and been accepted.
*If you are an NEC College Student, please call our registrars at 617-585-1314.

Schedule

Audition Date: Sunday May 22, 2016 from 2-5pm (call Daniel Wyneken for an appointment, 617-298-0269)

Monday, June 5, 6:30-9:30 pm
Tuesday, June 6, 6:30-9:30 pm
Thursday, June 8, 6:30-9:30 pm
Saturday, June 10, 10 am-5 pm
Tuesday, June 13, 6:30-9:30 pm
Thursday, June 15, 6:30-9:30 pm
Saturday, June 17, 10 am-5 pm
Tuesday, June 20, 6:30-9:30 pm
Thursday, June 22, 5:00-10:00 pm (dress rehearsal requires extended hours)

Dress Rehearsal: Thursday, June 22, 5:00-10:00p.m.

Performances: Friday, June 23 and Saturday, June 24, 6:30-9:30 pm.

 

Photo by Andrew Hurlbut

2016-12-16


LIFE IS A LOT LIKE JAZZ. IT'S BEST WHEN YOU IMPROVISE. GEORGE GERSHWIN