Academic Calendar: Preparatory School

September 2019

Thursday, September 5 – Sunday, September 8
Fall Placement and Seating Auditions

Thursday, September 12
Youth Chorale/Camerata begin

Friday, September 13
Sr MYWE, Jr MYWE, MYWE CB begin
Friday Baroque Ensembles and CHIPS rehearsals begin

Saturday, September 14
First Day of Fall Semester
Classical and CI Ensemble Rehearsals, classes and lessons begin
Jazz Classes begin

Trombone Choir begins
CHIPS coaching begins

Saturday, September 21
Jazz Ensembles begin
Concerto and Baroque competition applications available

String Workshop

Saturday, September 28
Jazz Lessons begin
Chamber music rehearsals start

Piano Workshop
String Recital

October 2019

Saturday, October 5
Registration Deadline: late fees incurred after today
String Workshop

Piano Recital

Saturday, October 12
Prep Concerto and Baroque Competition Applications Due

Piano Workshop
S
tring Recital

Sunday, October 13
Composer’s Celebration Concert 3:00 PM

Saturday, October 19
Voice Workshop

String Workshop
Woodwind Workshops
Guitar Workshop, 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM
Piano Recital

Saturday, October 26
Piano Workshop

Guitar Recital, 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM
String Recital
Woodwind Recital
Voice Recital

November 2019

Saturday, November 2
String Workshop

Piano Recital

Sunday, November 3
Concerto Competition Preliminaries, 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Baroque Competition, 1:00 PM – 4:00 PM

Saturday, November 9
Brass Workshop, 10:00 - 11:00 AM

Piano Workshop
String Recital

Sunday, November 10
Concerto Competition Finals, 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday, November 16
String Workshop

Piano Recital
Suzuki Concert 10:15 AM – 12:00 PM

Monday, November 18
YS Concert in Jordan Hall, 7:30 PM

Thursday, November 21
CHIPS/YPO Concert in Jordan Hall, 7:30 PM

Friday, November 22
YC Concert at Church of the Covenant, 7:00 PM

Saturday, November 23
String Practice Workshop

Woodwind Workshop
String Recital

Wednesday, November 27 – Sunday, December 1
Thanksgiving Vacation  No Events, Classes, Lessons, or Rehearsals

December 2019

Friday, December 6
Tourjee Singers at Church of the Covenant, 7:00 PM

Saturday, December 7
Piano Workshop

String Practice Workshop
Voice Workshop
Guitar Workshop 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM
Jazz Recital
Woodwind Recital
Piano Seminar Intermediate I Recital 1:00 PM
Angel Ramon Rivera Senior Piano Seminar Recital 3:00 PM
Children’s Choruses Concert in Black Box Theater, 4:00 PM

Sunday, December 8
YRO Concert in Jordan Hall, 8:00 PM

Friday, December 13
YJO Concert in Brown Hall, 7:30 PM

Saturday, December 14
Jazz Recital

Piano Recital
Piano Seminar Prep & Jr. Recital 9:00 AM
Piano Seminar Intermediate II Recital 1:00 PM
Piano Seminar Advanced I Recital 2:00 PM
Guitar Recital 11:00 – 12:00 PM
YBE, TC, and CC Concert in Williams Hall, 12:00 PM
Cello Choir and SCO Concert in Black Box Theater, 12:00 PM

Monday, December 16
Sr. MYWE Concert in Jordan Hall, 7:30 PM

Tuesday, December 17
MYWE CB and Jr. MYWE Concert in Jordan Hall, 7:30 PM

Saturday, December 21
Winter String Orchestra Festival 12:00 PM – 4:00 PM

Jazz Recital
Voice Recital 11:00 AM – 1:00 PM
No classical classes, lessons, ensembles, or chamber
Jazz classes, ensembles, and lessons will meet

Sunday, December 22 – Tuesday, January 7th
Winter Vacations  No Prep classes, lessons, or rehearsals

Back to top

January 2020

Wednesday, January 8
Handel and Haydn partnership recital in Williams Hall, 7:30 PM

Friday, January 10
Sr. & Jr. MYWE, MYWE CB and Friday Baroque Ensembles resume rehearsals

Saturday, January 11
Piano Workshop

String Practice Workshop
Jazz Recital

Sunday, January 12
Baroque Ensembles Concert 11:30 AM in Williams Hall

Thursday, January 16
Youth Chorale/Camerata rehearsals resume

Saturday, January 18 
String Workshop
Woodwind Workshop
Piano Recital
Jazz Recital
CI Mashup in Eben Jordan, 12:00 PM

Tuesday, January 21
YJO Concert in Jordan Hall, 7:30 PM

Saturday, January 25 – Spring Semester Begins
Chamber Workshop

Brass Workshop
Woodwinds Recitals
Prep Voice Class Recital
Harp Recital 11:30 AM
AFC Competition

Sunday, January 26
Chamber Music Festival, 9:00 AM-5:00 PM in Pierce Hall, Williams Hall, Brown Hall & Keller Room
 

February 2020

Saturday, February 1 – Sunday, February 2
Contemporary Music Festival

Saturday, February 1
Contemporary Festival Concert in Jordan Hall, 12 PM

Guitar Workshop 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM\
String Recital

Tuesday, February 4
YS/YPO Concert in Jordan Hall, 7:30 PM

Saturday, February 8
Piano Workshop

String Practice Workshop
Guitar Recital 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM

Saturday, February 15
Prep Winter Vacation – No classes, lessons or rehearsals

Saturday, February 22
String Workshop

Piano Recital

Saturday, February 29
Piano Workshop

String Recital

March 2020

Thursday, March 5
JRO/YRO Concert in Jordan Hall, 7:30 PM

Saturday, March 7
First date for scheduling required spring student recitals
String Workshop

Piano Recital

Saturday, March 14
Spring Break – No classes, lessons, or rehearsals

Saturday, March 21
Piano Workshop

Voice Workshop
String Recital
First date for scheduling non-required spring student recitals

Saturday, March 28
String Workshop

Piano Recital
Voice Recital

April 2020

Saturday, April 4
Woodwind Workshop

Piano Workshop
String Recital

Saturday, April 11
String Workshop

Guitar Workshop 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM
Woodwind Recital
Piano Recital

Wednesday, April 15
Camerata with college in Symphony Hall, 7:30 PM

Saturday, April 18
Piano Workshop

Brass Workshop
String Recital
Piano Seminar Intermediate I Recital 1:00 PM 
Angel Ramon Rivera Senior Piano Seminar Recital 3:00 PM
Guitar Recital 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM
Harp Fest in Williams Hall, 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM

Saturday, April 25
String Practice Workshop

Voice Workshop
Piano Seminar Prep and Jr. Recital 9:00 AM
Piano Seminar Intermediate II Recital 1:00 PM
Piano Seminar Advanced I Recital 2:00 PM
Jazz Recital
Piano Recital
Harp Recital

Sunday, April 26
YPO Concert 8:00 PM in Jordan Hall

May 2020

Saturday, May 2
NEC Gala

String Practice Workshop
Jazz Evaluations

Sunday, May 3
Suzuki Concert in Brown Hall, 10:15 AM

Tuesday, May 5
CHIPS Concert in Jordan Hall, 7:30 PM

Wednesday, May 6
YJO Concert in Brown Hall, 7:30

Saturday, May 9th
Evaluation Day – No private lessons, chamber music, piano seminar, eurhythmics (Suzuki Ensemble and Jazz classes/lessons etc. will run as usual)
Jazz Recitals

Sunday, May 10
Baroque Ensemble Concert 11:30 AM in Williams Hall

Thursday, May 14
YS Concert in Jordan Hall, 7:30 PM

Saturday, May 16
Makeup evaluation day
Jazz Recital

Voice Recital
CI Mashup Concert in Eben Jordan 12:00 PM – 1:00 PM
Young Composer’s Concert in Williams Hall, 6:00 PM

Monday, May 18
Trombone Choir, and MYWE Concert Band Concert in Jordan Hall, 7:30 PM

Tuesday, May 19
Youth Brass Ensemble and Jr MYWE Concert in Jordan Hall, 7:30 PM

Wednesday, May 20
MYWE Concert in Jordan Hall, 7:30 PM

Saturday, May 23
Makeup lessons and classes

Chamber Music Festival 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Jazz Recitals
Composition Seminar Recital in Eben Jordan, 7:30 PM

Wednesday, May 27
TS, YC, Camerata Concert in Jordan Hall, 7:30 PM

Saturday, May 30
Prep Graduation 11:00 AM - 1:00 PM

June 2020

Monday, June 1
Chamber Music Showcase in Jordan Hall, 7:30 PM

Wednesday, June 3
Handel and Haydn partnership recital in Williams Hall, 7:30 PM

Thursday June 4
YPO Concert with Youth Chorale, 7:30 PM

Saturday, June 6
SRO and PSO Concert, 12:00 PM

YRO Melba Sandberg Memorial Concert in Jordan Hall, 2:00 PM

Friday, June 12
Piano Tour Send-Off Concert, 7:30 PM

Saturday, June 13
PSO/JRO Concert in Jordan Hall, 3:00 PM

Sunday, June 14
Children’s Chorus Concert in Jordan Hall, 2:00 PM