Academic Calendar: Preparatory School

August 2020

Friday, August 14
Fall seating auditions due

Friday, August 28/Saturday August 29
First day of NEC Prep Fall Semester
Large Ensemble Orientations

September 2020

Friday, September 5
Labor Day weekend - no large ensemble rehearsals 

Thursday, September 10
National Youth Chorale Festival begins

Saturday, September 12
Start of Theory, Musicianship-Eurhythmics and Suzuki Classes
Chamber Music Orientation

Saturday, September 19
Jazz Classes begin

Friday, September 25
Registration Deadline: late fees incurred after today

Saturday, September 26
Jazz Ensembles begin
Chamber Music begins

Piano Seminar begins
Piano Workshop

October 2020

Saturday, October 3
String Workshop

Saturday, October 10
Piano Workshop

Saturday, October 17
String Workshop
Woodwind Workshop

Saturday, October 24
Brass Workshop
Piano Workshop

Saturday, October 31
String Workshop
Voice Workshop

November 2020

Saturday, November 7
Piano Workshop

Sunday, November 14
String Workshop

Saturday, November 21
Piano Workshop
Woodwind Workshop

Wednesday, November 25 – Sunday, November 29 
Thanksgiving Vacation  No Events, Classes, Lessons, or Rehearsals

December 2020

Saturday, December 5
Brass Workshop
String Workshop

Saturday, December 12
Piano Workshop
Voice Workshop

Saturday, December 19
String Workshop
No Theory Classes or Piano Seminar Classes
Large Ensembles and Chamber music groups will rehearse
Jazz classes and ensembles will meet 

Sunday, December 20 – Tuesday, January 5
Winter Vacations  No Prep classes, lessons, or rehearsals

Back to top

January 2021

Friday, January 8
Sr. & Jr. MYWE, MYWE CB and Friday Baroque Ensembles resume rehearsals

Saturday, January 9
Chamber Music Workshops

Friday, January 15
CHIPS rehearsals resume 

Saturday, January 16
Chamber Music Workshops

Saturday, January 23
Chamber Music Workshops

Sunday, January 30
Piano Workshops
Spring Chamber Music Orientation

February 2021

Saturday, February 6
String Workshops

Saturday, February 13

Saturday, February 20
Piano Workshop
Woodwind Workshop

Saturday, February 27
String Workshop
Voice Workshop

March 2021

Saturday, March 6
Brass Workshop

Piano Workshop

Saturday, March 13

Saturday, March 20
String Workshop

Saturday, March 27
Piano Workshop

April 2021

Saturday, April 3
String Workshop

Saturday, April 10
Brass Workshop

Piano Workshop

Saturday, April 17
String Workshop
Woodwind Workshop

Saturday, April 24
Piano Workshop

May 2021

Saturday, May 1
String Workshop
Voice Workshop

Saturday, May 8
Last day of Theory Classes
Evaluation Day 

Saturday, May 15
 

Saturday, May 22
Last day for private lessons

Saturday, May 29
Makeup lessons and classes