Skip to main content

Academic Calendar 2017-2018

September 2017

Thursday, September 7 – Sunday, September 10
Fall Placement and Seating Auditions

Friday, September 15
Sr MYWE, Jr MYWE, MYWE CB begin
Friday Baroque Ensembles begin

Saturday, September 16
First Day of Fall Semester
Classical and CI Ensemble Rehearsals classes and lessons begin
Jazz Classes begin

Saturday, September 23
Jazz Ensembles begin

Saturday, September 30
Jazz Lessons begin
Chamber music rehearsals start

October 2017

Saturday, October 7
Registration Deadline: late fees incurred after today
Brass Workshop

Saturday, October 14
Prep Concerto Competition Applications Due
Woodwind Workshop

Saturday, October 21
Prep Voice Department Workshop, 12PM
Woodwind Recital

Saturday, October 28
Prep Voice Department Recital, 12PM
Brass Workshop

November 2017

Sunday, November 5
Concerto Competition Preliminaries, 9 AM - 5 PM
YS and SCO Concert, 7:30 PM in Jordan Hall

Saturday, November 11
Voice Masterclass with Kevin Hill, 12-1pm

Sunday, November 12
Concerto Competition Finals, 9 AM - 5 PM
Baroque Concerto Competition

Thursday, November 16
YPO and Lexington High School Concert, 8:00 PM in Jordan Hall

Friday, November 17
Youth Choruses Concert, 7:00 PM at Church of the Covenant

Saturday, November 18
Suzuki Recital, 10:15 AM in Brown Hall

Wednesday, November 22 – Sunday, November 26
Thanksgiving Vacation No Events, Classes, Lessons, or Rehearsals

December 2017

Saturday, December 2
Prep Voice Department Workshop, 12PM
Children's Choruses Concert, 4:00 PM in Jordan Hall
Youth Brass Ensemble and Trombone Choir Concert, 12:00 PM

Sunday, December 3
Cello Choir with Boston Cello Quartet Concert, 8 PM in Jordan Hall

Saturday, December 9
Jazz Recitals
Voice Recital, 11AM-1PM
Brass Workshop

Tuesday, December 12
Jr MYWE and MYWE CB Concert, 7:30 PM in Jordan Hall

Friday, December 15
YJO Swing Dance, 7:30 PM in Brown Hall

Saturday, December 16
Jazz Recitals
Piano Seminar Recital, 10:00 AM
Winter Festival (STO, PSO, SRO, JRO, YRO, SCO), 12 PM in Jordan Hall
No classes, lessons, or rehearsals (except YS, YPO will rehearse)

Monday, December 18
Sr MYWE Concert, 7:30 PM in Jordan Hall

Thursday, December 21 – Friday, January 5
Winter Vacations No Prep classes, lessons, or rehearsals

Back to top

January 2018

Saturday, January 6
Jazz Recitals
Saturday rehearsals, lessons, and classes resume

Friday, January 12
Sr MYWE, Jr MYWE, MYWE CB, and Friday Baroque Ensembles resume

Saturday, January 13
Jazz Recitals
Woodwind Workshop

Saturday, January 20
Chamber Music Workshops
Woodwind Recital

Sunday, January 21
Baroque Ensembles Concert, 11:30 AM in Williams Hall

Monday, January 22
Boston Cello Quartet Faculty Recital, 7:30 PM in Jordan Hall

Saturday, January 27
Spring Semester Begins
Brass Workshop
Harp Recital 11:30 AM

Sunday, January 28
Chamber Music Festival, 9 AM-5 PM in Pierce Hall, Williams Hall, Brown Hall & Keller Room
YPO Concerto Concert, 8 PM in Jordan Hall

February 2018

Friday, February 2 – Sunday, February 4
Contemporary Music Festival

Saturday, February 3
Spring Registration Deadline: late fees incurred after this date
Woodwind Workshop

Tuesday, February 6
YS and JRO Concert, 7:30 PM in Jordan Hall

Saturday, February 10
Woodwind Recital

Saturday, February 17
Prep Winter Vacation – No classes, lessons or rehearsals

March 2018

Saturday, March 3
First date for scheduling required spring student recitals
Prep Voice Department Workshop, 12PM
Brass Workshop
Yoga for Singers Workshop with Evangelia Leontis, 1-2pm (during YWC)

Tuesday, March 6
YRO and Youth Chorale Concert, 8:00 PM in Jordan Hall

Saturday, March 10
First date for scheduling non-required spring student recitals and studio recitals
Voice Recital, 12PM

Saturday, March 17
Spring Break – No classes, lessons, or rehearsals

April 2018

Saturday, April 7
Woodwind Workshop

Saturday, April 14
Woodwind Recital

Saturday, April 21
Brass Recital

Saturday, April 28
Prep Voice Department Workshop, 12PM

Sunday, April 29
YPO Concert, 8:00 PM in Jordan Hall

May 2018

Saturday, May 5
Jazz Evaluation Day
Voice Recital, 11AM-1PM
Harp Recital 11:30 AM

Sunday, May 6 – Saturday, May 19
Large Ensemble Auditions

Sunday, May 6
Sr MYWE Concert, 7:30 PM in Jordan Hall

Wednesday, May 9
YJO Concert, 7:30 PM in Jordan Hall

Saturday, May 12
Evaluation Day – No private lessons, chamber music, piano seminar (Jazz classes/lessons etc. run as usual)

Wednesday, May 16
YS Concert, 7:30 PM in Jordan Hall

Thursday, May 17
SCO/JRO Concert, 7:30 PM in Jordan Hall

Saturday, May 19
Piano Seminar Recital; Jazz Recitals
Chamber Music Workshops

Monday, May 21
Cello Choir, Trombone Choir, and MYWE Concert Band Concert, 7:30 PM in Jordan Hall

Tuesday, May 22
Youth Brass Ensemble and Jr MYWE Concert, 7:30 PM in Jordan Hall

Wednesday, May 24
28th Annual Composer's Celebration Concert, 7:30 PM in Jordan Hall

Saturday, May 26
Chamber Music Festival
Baroque Ensemble Concert, 3:00 PM in Williams Hall
Composition Recital, 7:30 PM Williams Hall
Jazz Recitals

Thursday, May 31
Youth Choruses Concert, 7:30 PM in Jordan Hall

June 2017

Saturday, June 2
Graduation and Awards Ceremony

Monday, June 4
Chamber Gala Concert, 7:00 PM in Jordan Hall

Friday, June 8
Piano Tour Send-Off Concert, 8:00 PM Jordan Hall

Saturday, June 9
Spring Festival: STO, PSO, SRO, YRO Concert in Jordan Hall
No classes, lessons, or rehearsals.

Sunday, June 10
Children's Choruses Concert, 3:00 PM in Jordan Hall

Saturday, June 16
Young Women's Chorale with Cambridge Symphony Orchestra, 8:00 PM at Kresge Auditorium, MIT

Back to top

Top