Prep Piano Workshops & Recitals

The Preparatory School workshop/recital system offers students valuable performance experience and a wide range of viewpoints through direct feedback from various faculty. Students are recommended for workshops and signed up by their private teacher. After completion of the workshop, written reports made by another member of the faculty are distributed to the students and their private teacher. Students performing in workshops are eligible to play in a departmental recital the following week scheduled at the same time as their workshop.

Preparatory school departmental recitals through the workshop/recital program are scheduled on Saturdays throughout the year. Following our COVID-19 protocols, only parents and guardians of the student are permitted to attend the recitals. Any parents/guardians entering an NEC space (including attending the recital) MUST have completed the parent/guest attestation form. At this time, siblings who are not participating in the recital are not permitted to attend.

Students are recommended for the corresponding recital based on their performance in the workshop. Students must be approved in the corresponding workshop in order to play that recital. If the student is approved but unavailable for that recital, they must sign up to participate in the next workshop and be approved again in order to play in the next recital.

Spring 2022 Piano Workshop Schedule

Workshop Number Sign-ups open Sign-ups close Workshop Date/Time Recital Date/Time
1 Saturday, 1/7/22 Monday, 1/17/22 Saturday, 1/22/22 (12pm) Saturday, 1/29/22 (12pm)
2 Saturday, 2/5/22 Monday, 2/14/22 Saturday, 2/19/22 (12pm) Saturday, 2/26/22 (12pm)
3 Saturday, 2/19/22 Monday, 2/28/22 Saturday, 3/5/22 (12pm) Saturday, 3/12/22 (12pm)
4 Saturday, 3/5/22 Monday, 3/14/22 Saturday, 3/19/22 (12pm) Saturday, 3/26/22 (12pm)
5 Saturday, 3/26/22 Monday, 4/4/22 Saturday, 4/9/22 (12pm) Saturday, 4/23/22 (12pm)
6 Friday 4/15/22 at 5pm Monday, 4/25/22 Saturday, 4/30/22 (12pm) Saturday, 5/7/22 (12pm)

If you have any questions, please call 617-585-1160 or email the Prep office.