NEC Wind Ensemble + Robert Spittal: Stravinsky, Harbison, Spittal, Strauss

NEC: Jordan Hall | Directions

290 Huntington Ave.
Boston, MA
United States

NEC Wind Ensemble presents a concert under the direction of guest conductor and NEC alumnus Robert Spittal, whose Concerto for Wind Ensemble will be premiered tonight. 

This is an in-person event with a private stream available to the NEC community here:

  1. Igor Stravinsky | Octet

    Tema con variazioni

  2. John Harbison | Three City Blocks

    Fervent and resolute
    Tough, driving
    With relentless energy

    Program note

    Over the radio, in the early fifties, came sounds played by bands in hotels and ballrooms, now distant memories that seemed to a seventh-grade, small-town, late-night listener like the true pulse of giant imagined cities.
         Years later, these sounds -- layered with real experience of some of their places of origin: magnified, distorted, idealized and destabilized -- came into contact with other sounds, some of recent origin, and resulted in these celebratory, menacing, Three City Blocks, completed in the fall of 1991 at Nervi, near Genoa, on the Mediterranean coast of Italy.
         Three City Blocks was commissioned by the wind ensembles of the New England Conservatory, the University of Cincinnati, Florida State University, Ohio State University, the University of Michigan, the University of Southern California, and The United States Air Force Band.

    - John Harbison

  3. Robert Spittal | Concerto for Wind Ensemble (2023)

  4. Richard Strauss | Serenade in E-flat Major, op. 7