NEC Symphonic Winds + William Drury: Nielsen, Firsova, Nieske

NEC: Jordan Hall | Directions

290 Huntington Ave.
Boston, MA
United States

NEC Symphonic Winds, led by William Drury, perform works by Carl Nielsen and Elena Firsova.

This is an in-person event with a private stream available to the NEC community here:

  1. Carl Nielsen (trans. Philip Snedecor) | Symphony for Brass and Organ (Symphony No. 3)

    Allegro espansiva
    Andante pastorale
    Allegretto un poco
    Finale: Allegro

  2. Elena Firsova | Oblivion for Double Bass and Wind Quintet, op. 117

    Program note

    Oblivion is a short concert piece for double bass solo and wind ensemble, composed in 2006.
            The basic music material is in the first motiv played by the clarinet.  This is derived (but with different music intervals) from Lensky’s aria from Tchaikovsky’s opera Eugene Onegin where he sings:"The world will forget me"

            The title and the mood of my composition are taken from those words.

    – Elena Firsova

  3. Robert Nieske | Like Dancing (2023)

    World Premiere