NEC Chamber Singers & Symphonic Winds: Duke Ellington's Sacred Concert + Françaix

NEC: Jordan Hall | Directions

290 Huntington Ave.
Boston, MA
United States

NEC Chamber Singers and Symphonic Winds perform Duke Ellington's Sacred Concert, featuring alumnae Patrice Williamson, vocalist, and pianist Helen Sung. Also on the program is Jean Françaix' Sept Danses, conducted by Iverson Eliopoulos '23 MM.

This is an in-person event with a public live stream.

Watch Live from Jordan Hall 

  1. Jean Françaix | Sept Danses

    Le jeu de la poupée
    Funérailles de la poupée
    La présentation des petits amis
    Variation de Paul
    Pas de deux entre Sophie et Paul
    La goûter
    Danse des filets à papillons


    Program note

    In 1935 Françaix wrote a 30-minute ballet scored for symphony orchestra based on the children’s book Les Malheurs de Sophie, by the 19th-century Russian author Comtesse de Segur. The story of Sophie takes place in a French castle, where she manages to get into one mischievous scrape after another, much to the consternation of her mother. Later, in 1971, Francaix gathered seven movements from the ballet to form a suite, Sept Danses, scored for ten winds.

    - Program Note from University of Georgia Hodgson Wind Ensemble concert program, 17 November 2022

    • Iverson Eliopoulos '23 MM, conductor

  3. Duke Ellington | from Sacred Concert

    Transposed and edited by Bill Drury

    In the beginning God
    Almighty God
    Freedom No. 7
    Freedom No. 1 & No. 7

    • Patrice Williamson, soprano
    • Helen Sung, piano
    • William Drury, conductor
  4. Duke Ellington | Come Sunday