Skip to main content

Susanne Friedrich Faculty Recital

| New England Conservatory: Keller Room

The 5th Suite by J. S. Bach, played on the Baroque Cello, represents the use of the cello in the early 18th century. Pieces written in the 20th century for cello and flute, and cello and piano, are showing both continuity and contrast in how composers have been writing for this instrument.


  1. Suite for Cello solo no 5 in C minor, BWV 1011

    • Prelude
    • Allemande
    • Courante
    • Sarabande
    • Gavotte I & II
    • Gigue

    Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach

    Artists: Susanne Friedrich

  2. Assobio a Jato, W 493 (The Jet Whistle)

    • Allegro non troppo
    • Adagio
    • Vivo

    Composer: Heitor Villa-Lobos

    Artists: Laura Wilkins, Susanne Friedrich

  3. Sonata for Cello and Piano in C major, Op. 119

    • Andante grave -Moderato animato
    • Moderato
    • Allegro ma non troppo

    Composer: Sergei Prokofiev

    Artists: Ana Sorina Popa, Susanne Friedrich

  4. Little Duos (5) for Flute and Violin, Op. 56

    • Badinage
    • Berceuse
    • Valse

    Composer: C├ęsar Cui

    Artists: Laura Wilkins, Ana Sorina Popa, Susanne Friedrich