Violinist Xiang Yu gives this solo recital as an encore to his standing ovations at two back-to-back concerto appearances in Boston: the Beethoven Violin Concerto with Discovery Ensemble, April 13; and the Prokofiev Violin Concerto No. 1 with Hugh Wolff and the NEC Philharmonia in Symphony Hall, April 23.

Read Boston Musical Intelligencer's review of the April 13 concert.

Winner of the prestigious Yehudi Menuhin International Violin Competition in 2010, violinist Xiang Yu is regarded as one of today’s most talented and creative young violinists. His astonishing technique, distinctive sound, and exceptional musicality have won him consistent critical acclaim (the Strad, Strings Magazine, the Boston Globe) and enthusiastic audience response worldwide for his solo recitals, orchestral engagements, and chamber music performances.

In addition to winning the Menuhin Competition, including the Bach Prize and Audience prize, Xiang also won 2nd prize in the Wieniawski International Violin Competition (2006) as the youngest prize winner; 3rd prize in the Michael Hill International Violin Competition (2011); 2nd prize and the Best Commissioned Work Prize in the 25th Irving M. Klein International String Competition; and 1st prize and the Best Chamber Music Performance prize of the Baden-Württemberg International Music Competition (2005).

In 2012-13, he was chosen as one of Performance Today’s Young Artists-in-Residence and performances by and conversations with him were featured daily on the nationally broadcast public radio show during the week of April 13, 2013. He was also selected to tour with chamber musicians and violinist Miriam Fried from the Ravinia Festival’s Steans Institute.

In 2012-13, Xiang made his debut with the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, captivating audiences with playing that combines passion and purity of interpretation. He also appeared as a soloist with the Auckland Symphony Orchestra, the Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra, Munich Chamber Orchestra, Norwegian Broadcasting Orchestra, Shanghai Symphony Orchestra, Young-Euro Classic Orchestra, and the Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra.

Born in Inner Mongolia, Xiang moved to Shanghai at the age of 11 and received his early training from violinist Qing Zheng at the Shanghai Conservatory. A recipient of the Irene M. Stare Scholarship in Violin and a full scholarship at NEC, Xiang is a candidate for the Artist Diploma as one of only two instrumentalists in the prestigious program. He is studying with Donald Weilerstein and Kim Kashkashian and serves as the teaching assistant for Weilerstein.

Xiang's program, with pianist Dina Vainshtein, will include:

Vivaldi: Chaconne for Violin and Piano

Cesar Franck: Sonata for Violin and Piano in A major

Sicong Ma: "Nostalgia" from Inner Mongolian Suite (Suiyuan Suite), for violin & piano, Op. 9

Franz Schubert: Fantasy for Violin and Piano in C major, D 934

Date: April 30, 2014 - 8:00:PM
Price: Free
Location: NEC’s Jordan Hall

Share with a friend!

Are you an NEC faculty member or student who is giving a school concert? Submit your artist and repertoire information now!

NEC's FREE concerts do not require a ticket, unless stated in concert listing.
Unreserved seating is available on a first-come, first-served basis.
Doors open 30 minutes prior to the concert's start time.