NEC Prep Presents

"NEC Prep is a wonderful community music school open to all youngsters in the City of Boston and beyond."
—Thomas M. Menino, Former Mayor of Boston

NEC says "Thank you, Boston" with the 11-concert "NEC Prep Presents" series. Free admission to these concerts by senior Prep ensembles marks our gratitude for community support of NEC's Campus Redevelopment Plan. More on this.

Student Performances

Faculty Performances

Masterclasses/Seminars

Special Events

Academic Calendar 2014-2015

Please note that this calendar is a listing of NEC Events involving the Preparatory School. For NEC's full event listing, please click here.

2014-2015 Prep Events

Student Performances

Saturday, November 8, 2014
WGBH Cartoon Festival @ Symphony Hall (YS performs)

Monday, November 10, 2014
YS Concert, 7pm in Jordan Hall

Thursday, November 20, 2014
YPO Concert, 8pm in Jordan Hall

Sunday, December 7, 2015
SCO/YRO Concert, 8pm in Jordan Hall

Friday, December 12, 2015
YJO Concert, 7:30pm in Brown Hall

Week 13: Saturday, December 13, 2014
Combined Chorus Concert: 1pm in Jordan Hall (Children's Choruses, Young Women's Chorale, Youth Chorale, CI A Cappella perform)

Sunday, December 14, 2014
SR. MYWE Concert, 8pm in Jordan Hall

Monday, December 15, 2014
JR. MYWE Concert, 7:30pm in Jordan Hall

Tuesday, December 16, 2014
YBE/TC Concert, 7pm in Jordan Hall

Saturday, December 20, 2014
Prep Piano Seminar Concert, 11am in Williams Hall
Winter Festival Orchestra Concert, 1pm (String Training Orchestras, Preparatory String Orchestra, String Repertory Orchestra, Junior Repertory Orchestra will perform)

Saturday, January 17, 2015
Jazz Ensemble Recitals

Sunday, January 25, 2015
Winter Chamber Music Festival Concerts
25th Composer Anniversary Concerto, 7:30 PM in Jordan Hall (YS and YC perform)

Saturday, January 31, 2015
Contemporary Festival Workshops and Concerts: 9am-12pm Composition Masterclass, 12-1pm Orchestra Concert (JRO/SCO), 1-5pm Piano Seminar Concerto, 5-7pm Improvisation/Young Performers Concert

Sunday, February 1, 2015
Baroque Ensembles Concert, 11am in Williams Hall
Contemporary Festivals Concerts at 10am, 12:30pm, 3pm, 4:30pm

Thursday, February 19, 2015
YPO Concert, 8pm in Jordan Hall

Sunday, March 15, 2015
Joint Jr. and Sr. MYWE Concert, 8pm in Jordan Hall

Sunday, May 10, 2015
YBE/TC Concert, 8pm in Jordan Hall

Monday, May 18, 2015
MYWE Concert, 7:30pm in Jordan Hall

Tuesday, May 19, 2015
YJO Concert, 7:30pm in Jordan Hall

Thursday, May 21, 2015
Youth Symphony Concert, 8pm in Jordan Hall

Saturday, May 23, 2015
YRO/SCO Concert 1pm in Jordan Hall

Sunday, May 24, 2015
Prep Spring Chamber Music Festival

Wednesday, May 27, 2015
YC and YWC Concert, 7:30pm in Jordan Hall

Friday, May 29, 2015
YPO Concert, 8pm in Jordan Hall

Saturday, May 30, 2015
Prep Spring Festival, 2-6pm (Children's Choruses, String Training Orchestras, Preparatory String Orchestra, String Repertory Orchestra, Junior Repertory Orchestra performs)

Sunday, May 31, 2015
Prep Baroque Ensembles Concert, 11am in Williams Hall

Back to top.

Faculty Performances

TBD

Back to top.

Masterclasses/Seminars

Recent guests have included cellists Laurence Lesser, Ralph Kirshbaum, Leslie Parnas, Colin Carr, and Orlando Cole; pianists Gilbert Kalish, Bruce Brubaker, Jerome Lowenthal, and Andras Schiff; singers Kathleen Kaun and Robert Honeysucker; violinists Eric Rosenblith and Zakhar Bron; violist Jeffrey Irvine; oboists Washington Barella and Wayne Rapier; flutists Sheryl Cohen and Keith Underwood; trumpeter Roger Voisin; trombonist Toby Oft; and bassists Gary Karr, John Clayton, and Paul Ellison.

2014-15 Masterclasses TBD

Back to top.

Special Events

2014-15 Special Events TBD

Back to top.

Jordan Hall

NEC is the only school of music to be designated a National Historic Landmark. One of Boston’s most celebrated concert halls, NEC’s historic Jordan Hall is considered to have one of the best acoustics in the world, with many of the world’s leading artists performing here regularly. Most of the large ensembles within the Preparatory School have the opportunity to perform in this inspiring venue. Every year nearly 600 NEC performances, most of which are free, take place in the Conservatory’s own concert halls and throughout Boston.

Back to top.

Concert Recordings

Many concerts by Preparatory School performing organizations are recorded. These recordings are available for class work and private listening and represent a major resource in all musical periods and styles. NEC reserves the right to use these recordings to promote the school and raise money for the scholarship fund. All students who participate in Conservatory performances and recordings release New England Conservatory from any obligation, financial or otherwise.

Back to top.

2014-08-12


IT'S LIKE AN ACT OF MURDER; YOU PLAY WITH INTENT TO COMMIT SOMETHING. DUKE ELLINGTON