2014-2015 Academic Calendar

September 

October

November

December

January

February

March

April

May

June

September

Monday, September 1, 2014
Labor Day
NEC at Walnut Hill School Private Teacher Placements
NEC Offices Closed

Tuesday, September 2, 2014
NEC at Walnut Hill School Private Teacher Placements

Friday, September 12, 2014
Prep Fall Placement Auditions
SR MYWE and JR MYWE begin
Faculty Council Meeting 9:15-11:15 AM

Saturday, September 6, 2014-Sunday, September 7, 2014
Prep Fall Placement Auditions and Large Ensemble Seating Auditions

Monday, September 8, 2014
NEC at Walnut Hill Ensemble Auditions

Friday, September 12, 2014
Friday Baroque Ensembles Begin

Week 1: Saturday, September 13, 2014
First Day of Prep Fall Semester
Classes, lessons (classical), large ensembles, and jazz classes begin
(Chamber Music  and Jazz Ensembles begin on 9/20/14, Jazz Lessons begin on 9/27/14)

Week 2: Saturday, September 20, 2014
Prep Chamber and Jazz Ensembles Begin
(Jazz Lessons begin on 9/27/14)
Workshops: String (1)

Sunday, September 21, 2014
BrassFest/Recital

Week 3: Saturday, September 27, 2014
NEC Prep Fall Open House
Registration Deadline: Late fees incurred after today
Workshops: Piano (1)
Recitals: String (1)
All Jazz Lessons Begin

Back to top.

October

Friday, October 3, 2014
Faculty Council Meeting, room SB 309, 9:30–11am

Week 4: Saturday, October 4, 2014
Workshops: String (2)
Recitals: Piano (1)
Prep Concerto Competition Applications Due

Week 5: Saturday, October 11, 2014
Workshops: Piano (2)
Recitals: String (2)

Monday, October 13, 2014
Columbus Day
NEC offices Closed

Week 6: Saturday, October 13, 2014
Workshops: String (3), Brass/Woodwind (1)
Recitals: Piano (2)

Week 7: Saturday, October 25, 2014
Workshops: Piano (3)
Recitals: String (3), Woodwind/Brass (1)

Back to top.

November

Week 8: Saturday, November 1, 2014
Workshops: String (4)
Recitals: Piano (3)

Sunday, November 2, 2014
Concerto Competition Preliminaries 9am-5pm

Friday, November 7, 2014
Faculty Council Meeting, room SB 309: 9:30-11am

Week 9: Saturday, November 8, 2014
Workshops: Piano (4)
Recitals: String (4)
WGBH Cartoon Festival @ Symphony Hall (YS performs)

Sunday, November 9, 2014
Concerto Competition Finals 9am-5pm
YS Dress Rehearsal, 6-9pm in Jordan Hall

Monday, November 10, 2014
YS Concert, 7pm in Jordan Hall

Week 10: Saturday, November 15, 2014
Workshops: String (5), Brass/Woodwind (2)
Recitals: Piano (4)

Monday, November 17, 2014
YPO Dress Rehearsal, 6-9pm in Jordan Hall

Thursday, November 20, 2014
YPO Concert, 8pm in Jordan Hall

Week 11: Saturday, November 22, 2014
Workshops: Piano (5)
Recitals: String (5), Brass/Woodwind (2)

Sunday, November 23, 2014-Monday, December 1
Prep Offices Closed due to Thanksgiving Vacation

Back to top.

December

Sunday, November 23, 2014-Monday, December 1
Prep Offices Closed due to Thanksgiving Vacation

Tuesday, December 2, 2014
Prep Offices Reopen

Friday, December 5, 2015
Faculty Council Meeting, room SB 309, 9:30-11am

Week 12: Saturday, December 6, 2014
Workshops: String (6)
Recitals: Piano (5)
YRO Dress Rehearsal, 1-3pm in Jordan Hall

Sunday, December 7, 2015
Prep SCO/YRO Concert, 8pm in Jordan Hall

Friday, December 12, 2015
YJO Concert, 7:30pm in Brown Hall

Week 13: Saturday, December 13, 2014
Last Regular Saturday of Lessons and Classes in 2014
Workshops: Piano (6)
Recitals: String (6)
Combined Chorus Concert: 1pm in Jordan Hall (Children's Choruses, Young Women's Chorale, Youth Chorale, CI A Cappella perform)

Sunday, December 14, 2014
SR. MYWE Concert, 8pm in Jordan Hall

Monday, December 15, 2014
JR. MYWE Concert, 7:30pm in Jordan Hall

Tuesday, December 16, 2014
YBE/TC Concert, 7pm in Jordan Hall

Wednesday, December 17, 2014
YJO Recording Session

Thursday, December 18, 2014
Prep Winter Chamber Music Forms Due

Friday, December 19, 2014
Prep Progress Reports Due: Studio, Classes, and Chamber Music (Not including Jazz)

Saturday, December 20, 2014
No regularly scheduled Prep lessons/classes (except YPO and YS will rehearse)
Prep Piano Seminar Concert, 11am in Williams Hall
Winter Festival Orchestra Concert, 1pm (String Training Orchestras, Preparatory String Orchestra, String Repertory Orchestra, Junior Repertory Orchestra will perform)

Sunday, December 21, 2014-Tuesday, January 6, 2015
Preparatory School Administrative Offices Closed

Back to top.

January

Sunday, December 21, 2014-Tuesday, January 6, 2015
Preparatory School Administrative Offices Closed

Friday, January 2, 2015
No Faculty Council Meeting

Saturday, January 3, 2015
Prep Winter Vacation continues
No Prep classes, lessons, or rehearsals

Tuesday, January 6, 2015
Prep Administrative Offices re-open

Friday, January 9, 2015
No SR. MYWE rehearsal
JR. MYWE and Friday Baroque Ensembles resume

Week 14: Saturday, January 10, 2015
Workshops: String (7)
Recitals: Piano (6)
Jazz Ensemble Recitals

Friday, January 16, 2015
SR. MYWE rehearsals resume

Week 15: Saturday, January 17, 2015
Last Day of Prep Fall Semester
Workshops: Piano (7), Woodwind/Brass (3)
Recitals: String (7)
Jazz Ensemble Recitals

Monday, January 19, 2015
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
All NEC Offices Closed

Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Youth Symphony Dress Rehearsal, 6-9pm in Jordan Hall

Week 16: Saturday, January 24, 2015
First Day Prep Spring Semester
Workshops: Chamber Music and Piano Duo

Sunday, January 25, 2015
Winter Chamber Music Festival Concerts
25th Composer Anniversary Concerto, 7:30 PM in Jordan Hall (YS and YC perform)

Friday, January 30, 2015
Contemporary Festival Masterclass at Walnut Hill School

Week 17: Saturday, January 31, 2015
No Chamber Music Coachings
Recitals: Woodwind/Brass (3)
Contemporary Festival Workshops and Concerts: 9am-12pm Composition Masterclass, 12-1pm Orchestra Concert (JRO/SCO), 1-5pm Piano Seminar Concerto, 5-7pm Improvisation/Young Performers Concert

Back to top.

February

Sunday, February 1, 2015
Baroque Ensembles Concert, 11am in Williams Hall
Contemporary Festivals Concerts at 10am, 12:30pm, 3pm, 4:30pm

Friday, February 6, 2015
Faculty Council Meeting 9:15-11:15am

Week 18: Saturday, February 7, 2015
Workshop: String (8)
Recitals: Piano (7)

Saturday, February 14, 2015
Winter Vacation: No classes, lessons, or rehearsals (except YPO and YS rehearsal)
Valentine's Day

Monday, February 16, 2015
Presidents' Day
NEC Offices Closed

Wednesday, February 18, 2015
YPO Dress Rehearsal, 6-9pm in Jordan Hall

Thursday, February 19, 2015
YPO Concert, 8pm in Jordan Hall

Week 19: Saturday, February 21, 2015
Workshops: Piano (8)
Recitals: String (8)

Week 20: Saturday, February 28, 2015
Workshops: String (9)
Recitals: Piano (8)
Faculty Recital Applications Due

Back to top.

March

Friday, March 6, 2015
Faculty Council Meeting 9:15-11:15am

Week 21: Saturday, March 7, 2015
Spring Open House
Workshops: Piano (9)
Recitals: String (9)
First Date for scheduling May REQUIRED Student Spring Recitals (Certificate Students)

Saturday, March 14, 2015
Spring Break: Prep Offices Closed
No Rehearsals, Lessons, Classes, or Ensembles (Except for YS rehearsal)

Sunday, March 15, 2015
Joint Jr. and Sr. MYWE Concert, 8pm in Jordan Hall

Thursday March 19, 2015-Saturday, March 21, 2015
NEC at MMEA All-State Conference

Week 22: Saturday, March 21, 2015
Workshops: String (10), Woodwind/Brass (4)
Recitals: Piano (9)

Tuesday, March 24 2015
Prep Evaluation Forms Distributed to Faculty (electronic)

Week 23: March, 28, 2015
Workshops: Piano (10)
Recitals: String (10)
Woodwind/Brass (4)
First Date for scheduling May non-required student Spring Recitals and Studio Recitals (Prep only)

Back to top.

April

Friday, April 3, 2015
Faculty Council Meeting, 9:15-11:15am

Week 24: Saturday, April 4, 2015
Workshops: String (11), Woodwind/Brass (5)
Recitals: Piano (10)
Prep Private Lesson Evaluation Forms Due (non-Jazz)

Week 25: Saturday, April 11, 2015
Workshops: Piano (11)
Recitals: String (11), Woodwind/Brass (5)

Week 26: Saturday, April 18, 2015
Workshops: String (12)
Recitals: Piano (11)

Week 27: Saturday, April 25, 2015
Workshops: Piano (12)
Recitals: String (12)
Spring Chamber Music Forms Due
Prep Evaluations schedules posted

Back to top.

May

Week 28: Saturday, May 2, 2015
Recitals: Piano (12)
Jazz Evaluation Day

Sunday, May 3, 2015-Sunday, May 17, 2015
Large Ensemble Audition Period

Week 29: Saturday, May 9, 2015
Evaluation Day: Evaluations take the place of 1 studio lesson
No Chamber Music Coachings
Recitals: Jazz Ensembles
Faculty Appreciation Lunch

Sunday, May 10, 2015
YBE/TC Concert, 8pm in Jordan Hall

Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Progress Reports Due: Theory, Classes, and Chamber Music

Week 30: Saturday, May 16, 2015
Last Regular Day of Classes and Lessons, Prep Spring Semester
Workshops: Chamber Music and Piano Duo

Monday, May 18, 2015-Sunday, June 7, 2015
Prep Recital Period

Monday, May 18, 2015
MYWE Concert, 7:30pm in Jordan Hall

Tuesday, May 19, 2015
YJO Concert, 7:30pm in Jordan Hall

Wednesday, May 20, 2015
YS Dress Rehearsal, 6-9pm in Jordan Hall

Thursday, May 21, 2015
Youth Symphony Concert, 8pm in Jordan Hall

Saturday, May 23, 2015
YRO/SCO Concert 1pm in Jordan Hall

Sunday, May 24, 2015
Prep Spring Chamber Music Festival

Monday, May 25, 2015
Memorial Day
NEC Office closed

Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Youth Chorale/YWC Dress Rehearsal, 6-9pm in Brown Hall
YPO Dress Rehearsal, 6-9pm in Jordan Hall

Wednesday, May 27, 2015
YC and YWC Concert, 7:30pm in Jordan Hall

Friday, May 29, 2015
YPO Concert, 8pm in Jordan Hall

Saturday, May 30, 2015
Prep Graduation and Awards Ceremony, 10:30am
Prep Spring Festival, 2-6pm (Children's Choruses, String Training Orchestras, Preparatory String Orchestra, String Repertory Orchestra, Junior Repertory Orchestra performs)

Sunday, May 31, 2015
Prep Baroque Ensembles Concert, 11am in Williams Hall

Back to top.

June

YPO and YS Tours TBD

Back to top.

2014-08-20


IT'S LIKE AN ACT OF MURDER; YOU PLAY WITH INTENT TO COMMIT SOMETHING. DUKE ELLINGTON