Ensemble: Callithumpian Consort

Artists: Andrew Steinberg (Saxophone), Stuart Gerber (Percussion), Gabriela Diaz (Violin), Stephen Drury (Piano), Yukiko Takagi (Piano)

Welcome to NEC's Summer Institute for Contemporary Performance Practice (SICPP): 8 days and nights of explosive new music!

The SICPP experience is intense and demanding—each day is filled with masterclasses, lessons, colloquia, and rehearsals. Nearly every day is topped off by an incredible evening concert given by SICPP faculty, special guest artists Kim Kashkashian and William Winant, and Ensemble-in-Residence the Callithumpian Consort, which will feature works by the SICPP Composer-in-Residence, Georg Haas.

SICPP was started at New England Conservatory in the late 1990s by Artistic Director Stephen Drury as an intensive performance seminar on music of the 20th century, and for many years enrollment was open only to advanced pianists; since 2005 the program has also been open to percussionists, finally expanding by 2009 to include vocalists and all other instrumentalists. SICPP is now a full-blown annual chamber music festival focused on works of the 20th and 21st centuries. We are pleased to also feature the Electronic Workshop and the New Works Program.

photo of Georg Friedrich Haas by Substantia Jones


Globokar: Terres brûlées, ensuite…
Andrew Steinberg (Saxophone), Stuart Gerber (Percussion)

Haas: De terrae fine
Gabriela Diaz (Violin)

Ives: Quarter-tone Pieces (3)
Stephen Drury (Piano), Yukiko Takagi (Piano)

Date: June 23, 2017 - 8:00PM

Price: Free

Location: NEC's Jordan Hall

Are you an NEC faculty member or student who is giving a school concert? Submit your artist and repertoire information now!

NEC's FREE concerts do not require a ticket, unless stated in concert listing. Unreserved seating is available on a first-come, first-served basis. Doors open 30 minutes prior to the concert's start time.