Artists: Adrian Sanborn (Flute), Deborah De Wolf Emery (Piano), Annabelle Taubl (Harp), Matthew Vera (Viola)

Flutist Adrian Sanborn completed the Master of Music degree at New England Conservatory in 2014, studying with Paula Robison. Sanborn was a member of an NEC Honors Ensemble, Philharmonic Five, during both his years of graduate study, and was a recipient of the Borromeo String Quartet's Guest Artist Award. NEC hosts his recital as winner of the 34th James Pappoutsakis Memorial Flute Competition, held earlier this year.

The Pappoutsakis Prize, first presented in 1980, was established in 1979 in memory of James Pappoutsakis, flutist with the Boston Symphony Orchestra for nearly four decades and beloved teacher of generations of fine musicians now performing throughout the world. Finalists in the annual competition are chosen (in a blind preliminary round) from among students at New England Conservatory, Boston University, The Boston Conservatory, The Longy School of Music, and Berklee College of Music.

This recital is preceded by flute masterclasses in various locations at NEC beginning at 1:30pm.


Copland: Duo for Flute and Piano
Poetic, somewhat mournful
Lively, with bounce
Adrian Sanborn (Flute), Deborah De Wolf Emery (Piano)

Debussy: Sonata for Flute, Viola and Harp, L 137
Pastorale: Lento, dolce rubato
Interlude: Tempo di menuetto
Finale: Allegro moderato ma resoluto
Adrian Sanborn (Flute), Annabelle Taubl (Harp), Matthew Vera (Viola)

Hindemith: Sonata for Flute and Piano in B flat major
Heiter bewegt
Sehr langsam
Sehr lebhaft - Marsch
Adrian Sanborn (Flute), Deborah De Wolf Emery (Piano)

Liebermann: Sonata for Flute and Piano, Op. 23
Presto energico
Adrian Sanborn (Flute), Deborah De Wolf Emery (Piano)

Date: September 7, 2014 - 3:00PM

Price: Free

Location: NEC's Jordan Hall

Are you an NEC faculty member or student who is giving a school concert? Submit your artist and repertoire information now!

NEC's FREE concerts do not require a ticket, unless stated in concert listing. Unreserved seating is available on a first-come, first-served basis. Doors open 30 minutes prior to the concert's start time.