Ensemble: NEC Philharmonia

Conductor: Hugh Wolff

Esa-Pekka Salonen’s "L.A. Variations", written on commission for the Los Angeles Philharmonic (of which he was then music director), marked Salonen’s emergence as a major composer after his international conducting career had interrupted what had previously been his primary musical focus as a young musician.

Critic Mark Swed, writing in the "Los Angeles Times" after the 1997 premiere, pronounced "'LA Variations' a happy event. It is a proud statement, its composer wrote in his program note, of ‘the virtuosity and power of my orchestra.’ It is a piece, Salonen has also said, that demonstrates finally the not-always easy assimilation of a ‘Finnish boy’ into multicultural, freeway-obsessed Los Angeles.

A kind of concerto for orchestra with flavor notes of folk music, the Salonen is clearly, too, Hugh Wolff’s statement of pride in his NEC Philharmonia and its youthful virtuosity. How better to begin a new season?

Instant EncoreDid you miss this concert? Were you there and would like to hear it again—because once is not enough? You're in luck—NEC has made it available at InstantEncore. To play or download the performances, click here—there are no fees involved. You will need to have or create an account to complete the process. Your account will also allow you to receive notifications of future concerts.


Tchaikovsky: Symphony no 4 in F minor, Op. 36
Andante sostenuto - Moderato con anima
Andantino in modo di canzone
Scherzo: Pizzicato ostinato - Allegro
Finale: Allegro con fuoco

Date: October 1, 2014 - 8:00PM

Price: Free

Location: NEC's Jordan Hall

Are you an NEC faculty member or student who is giving a school concert? Submit your artist and repertoire information now!

NEC's FREE concerts do not require a ticket, unless stated in concert listing. Unreserved seating is available on a first-come, first-served basis. Doors open 30 minutes prior to the concert's start time.