Welcome to Class Notes online—a space for you to post your news and read about your classmates' recent activities.

Submit a Class Note | Find details on how to submit a Class Note.

News from your classmates

Lei Liang '96, '98 MM, Composition (Photo by: Howard Lipin) In partnership with TenFourteen LLC, an arm of the Jebediah Foundation, the San Francisco Contemporary Music Players. will launch the TenFourteen project, which will finance the composition of ten chamber works for the 2014–2015 season.  Lei Liang '96, '98 M.M. and Koji Nakano '97, '99 M.M.have been named as two of the ten composers of which all have distinguished international reputations, whose work covers both the twentieth and current centuries.  Five concerts are planned for the 2014–2015 season, over the course of which all ten new works will be performed.  Each will be between 18 and 25 minutes in duration.  In keeping with SFCMP resources, each will be composed for an ensemble of between five and nine players. Lei Liang was been named winner of the 2011 Elliott Carter Rome Prize. The Rome Prize awards, given by the American Academy in Rome, recognize 30 individuals annually “who represent the highest standard of excellence in the arts and humanities.” Mr. Liang won the Rome Prize in musical composition for his Sextet and Chamber Concerto. The prize carries with it a Rome residency where recipients are invited to Rome to work in “an atmosphere conducive to intellectual and artistic freedom, interdisciplinary exchange, and innovation.”  Liang, born in Tianjin, China, started composing at the age of six. He left China in 1990 and soon began studies at NEC and then Harvard University. Liang studied with Robert Cogan at NEC. In addition to the Rome Prize, Liang is the recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship and an Aaron Copland Award. He was recently commissioned by the New York Philharmonic and Alan Gilbert for the inaugural concert of the CONTACT! new music series, and has also been commissioned by ensembles like the Taipei Chinese Orchestra, the Heidelberger Philharmonisches Orchester, pipa virtuoso Wu Man, the Arditti, Ying and Shanghai Quartets, San Francisco Contemporary Music Players, New York New Music Ensemble and Boston Musica Viva.  As a scholar, he is active in the research and preservation of traditional Asian music. 2012-01-24


Christopher Rozmarin '96 M.M., Tombone PerformanceIn August, 2010, Christopher Rozmarin ’96 M.M. will compete in his first-ever 100 mile foot race, the Leadville 100 Mile Trail Run, in Leadville, Colo., and is given only 30 hours to complete the course. Christopher is a Sergeant First Class with the U.S. Army, and performs regularly with the Army Ground Forces Band. He recently performed with the band at their Sousa, Stars, and Stripes Forever! concert at the Georgia Tech Ferst Center for the Arts. Christopher played the lively and challenging Bluebells of Scotland, arranged for trombone by Arthur Pryor of John Phillip Sousa’s band. In addition to performing with the Army Ground Forces Band, Christopher serves as the band’s equal opportunity representative and its chief of re-enlistment and retention. He occasionally performs as a substitute trombonist with the Atlanta and Alabama symphony orchestras. 2010-04-06




Help find your lost classmates

Unfortunately, NEC has lost touch with some of your classmates. If you have e-mail or other contact information for any of the people listed below, please let us know so that we can keep them informed of reunions and other NEC activities.

Ji-Hoon Ahn, Johanna Marie Brayne, Jung-Eun Byun, Nora-Ath Chanklum, Li-Fen Chen, Yu-Li Chen, Catherine Kai-Ling Chi, Anna Cho, Hyun Jung Cho, Duncan Alwyn Fikkers, Catherine Martha Fitzpatrick, Michal Anne Friedlander, Wei Ting Fu, Josh David Goldman, Sally M. Honda, I-Fang Hsieh, Ginger Meredith Inabinet, Atsuko Ishii, Hee-Sung Joo, Sung-Eun Jun, Shin Kim, Won-Jung Kim, Seikyo SooHak Kim, Yukiko Sato Kirito, Betty Kuark, Sachiko Kunori, York Yu Kwong, Dong-Youn Lee, Ji-Yeon Lee, Jeeyoon Lee, In-Kyu Lee, Joo-Hee Lee, Rachel Elizabeth Lemisch, Kyung Mee Lim, Chao-Ching Lin, Mia Linde, Kuo-Chou Ling, Simon Robert Burwell MacDonald, Shinobu Miki, Patrick Joseph Mitten, Jung-Hwa Moon, Junko Mori, Yoon-Jung Park, Sang Young Park, Kyung-Hee Park, Ji-Hee Park, Jose Luis Perez, Rui Pedro Pintao, Merav Reuel, Noriko Sakamaki, Yukiko Sato, Haruka Hiruta Satow, Dylan Wolfe Savage, Kathleen Marie Savoldy, Heinz Karl Novaes Schwebel, Chien-Ji Shaie, Meng-Wen Shih, Daniel Harold Shore, Paolo Pietro Susanni, Shinobu Suzuki, Nicola Tommaso Tescari, Quentin Tolimieri, Nang-Wha Tsang, Hsiu-Ting Wang, Mia Whang, Suk Yee Wong, George David Wright, Chao-Wen Yu, Ya-Che Yu, Esther Yune.