Welcome to Class Notes online—a space for you to post your news and read about your classmates' recent activities.

Submit a Class Note | Find details on how to submit a Class Note.

News from your classmates

Deke Sharon '91 founder of the Contemporary A Capella Society just finished producing The Sing Off season 3 as well as executive producing the Dutch version. The House Jacks, his performing group, is hailed as the original "rock band without instruments", and were featured in the Monday Night Football theme with Hank Williams Jr.  Deke is a prolific acapella arranger having arranged over 2000 songs.  This year he will be performing on four continents, releasing his first book in September entitled, "A Cappella Arranging", and his first movie as music director Pitch Perfect will be released.  He will continue to arrange, coach, produce and direct contemporary a cappella wherever people will have him. 2012-03-29


For a third year in a row, Maria Letona Holloway '91, '93 M.M. has been invited by the National Foundation for the Advancement in the Arts to participate as a collaborative pianist for YoungArts Week. The event took place at the New World Symphony Orchestral Academy venue in Miami Beach.  In the summer of 2011, Holloway taught piano classes for the Greater Miami Youth Symphony summer camp and in July, she performed Rachmaninoff second piano concerto with the El Salvador National Symphony Orchestra. In October she presented a lecture-recital on the piano works of Cuban composer, Rene Touzet. The same month, Holloway collaborated on an article based on Touzet's works for Venue Magazine.  Her piano playing was featured in the soundtrack of the documentary film "Portraits of the Malecon," which was shown at the MiamiDoc Film Festival. Holloway maintains an active career as a free-lance collaborative pianist, playing for various concerts, recitals, auditions and recordings in South Florida. 2012-02-07

Michael Ellison '91 After spending the last decade in Turkey, Michael Ellison ’91 currently works at the University of Bristol, UK advising on musicology dissertations and composition.  His recent work explores the integration of disparate traditions and sonic experimentations into meaningful new forms. Founder and co-director of Istanbul’s Hezarfen Ensemble, Michael’s upcoming projects include the Borusan Istanbul Philharmonic premiere of his first opera, Say I Am You-Mevlana (2011) in a co-production with Rotterdam Operadagen, VocaalLab Nederland, and Muziektheater Transparan, and String Quartet # 3, commissioned by the Fry Street Quartet for US premiere in 2013. His CD "Invocation" was recently released on Innova Recordings.  2012-01-27

Demetrius Spaneas '91, '96 M.M.Saxophonist and composer Demetrius Spaneas ’91, ‘96 M.M.  is a recipient for the Exploring the Metropolis/2011 Con Edison Composer-in-Residence award. Along with a stipend, Mr. Spaneas was given the wonderful space at Queen’s lovely Flushing Town Hall for three months this fall as rehearsal space, performance venue, and work studio.Eight composers were chosen–four for fall, four for spring–representing the borrows of Manhattan, Brooklyn, and Queens. The residency will culminate in a solo concert of Mr. Spaneas' music during the residency period (September 1-November 30). 2011-12-13


Shlomi Goldenberg '91 MMJazz saxophonist Shlomi Goldenberg ’91 M.M. has been enjoying a varied career as a Jazz musician in Israel.  His recent activities include:  managing the Jazz Alley jazz club in the picturesque Old City of Jaffa, producing, in partnership with the city of Tel Aviv, the 6th year of Jazz at the Boulevard festival, and teaching History of Jazz at Ben Gurion University.  Shlomi is also active writing new music and has begun the DMA in composition at Bar Ilan University. 2011-01-05



To the Moon, Matt Turner '91, Third Stream StudiesImprovising Cellist Matt Turner ’91 M.M. recently released a new CD, To The Moon, featuring Jean-Marc Foltz on clarinets and Bill Carrothers on piano, improvising pieces in a "classical" style. Their music has been described as being modern romanticism, abstract lyricism, or eccentric late-night lunar music. The CD will be distributed in North America, Asia, Europe, and Africa.  Check out a review here. 2010-12-22



Sapphire Ensemble, with co-directors Elaine Kwon '89 M.M., Piano Performance; and Demetrius Spaneas '91, '96 M.M., Saxophone Performance  The Sapphire Ensemble, which includes co-directors Elaine Kwon ’89 M.M. and Demetrius Spaneas ’91, ’96 M.M., performed with soprano Jacquelyn Familant at the Ico Art and Music Gallery in New York City in March, 2009. The program mixed classic works by Schubert and Purcell with contemporary pieces, including a piece by Demetrius, Moonlight of Lost Dreams. Elaine currently lives in New York City, and Demetrius lives in Roslindale, Mass. 2009-08-18



Help find your lost classmates

Unfortunately, NEC has lost touch with some of your classmates. If you have e-mail or other contact information for any of the people listed below, please let us know so that we can keep them informed of reunions and other NEC activities.

Jin-Sun Ahn, Ana M. Angel, Pablo Arellano, Linda Balliro, Stephen Christopher Bednarzyk, Sofia Berg Bohm, Kingjames Bigelow Jr., Michael Caniato, Yi-Bin Chen, Gyung Yim Choi, Thomas Ezekial Cooper, Marius Diaz-Lleal, Hee Jin Gim, Solomon Zephyr Goldenberg, Yih-Shuin Huang, Yee-Ming Huang, Robert A. Humphreville, Tae-Kyung Hyun, Hee Jae Im, Heejae Im, Jinyoung Kim, MiYoun Kim, Jin Young Kim, Igor Krivokapic, Elizabeth Dee Lewis, Maxwell Li, Catherine Yo-hua Liu, Guy Patrick Livingston, Ping Lu, Do-Won Ma, Chung-Pei Ma, Sean Cameron MacLean, Hans-Georg Mathe, Paulo Eduardo Maua, Catharine Murray, Bernadette Agnes Nadeau, Isamu Nakashio, Frederic Pelassy, Kai-Li Peng, Alejandro J. Pulido, Hee Jung Rim, Daniela Rodnite, Heieun Katharine Sang, Daniel Sarid, Yukiko Sato, Amy Elizabeth Schimmelman, John W. Schumacher, George Alexander Simeonidis, Fred Earl Smith, Arthur Nicholson Stokes, Yu Sugino, Jens Thoresen, Olla Olof Thorvardsdottir, Nir Asiff Tsahar, Duen-Kuang Tsai, Serge Uebersax, Kazuo Watanabe, Min Chung Wu, Hye Ran Yang, Atsuko Yoshida.