NEC Prep Presents

"NEC Prep is a wonderful community music school open to all youngsters in the City of Boston and beyond."
—Thomas M. Menino, Former Mayor of Boston

NEC says "Thank you, Boston" with the 11-concert "NEC Prep Presents" series. Free admission to these concerts by senior Prep ensembles marks our gratitude for community support of NEC's Campus Redevelopment Plan. More on this.

Student Performances

Faculty Performances

Masterclasses/Seminars

Academic Calendar

Please note that this calendar is a listing of NEC Events involving the Preparatory School. For NEC's full event listing, please click here.

2016-2017 Prep Events

Student Performances

Saturday, October 1
Woodwind Recital, 12PM
String Recitals, 12PM & 4PM

Saturday, October 8
Piano Recitals, 12PM

Saturday, October 15
Voice Recital, 12PM
String Recital, 12PM & 4PM

Saturday, October 29
Brass Workshop, 10AM
String Recitals, 12PM & 4PM

Saturday, November 5
Youth Chorale with CSO Concert, 8PM at Kresge Auditorium
Piano Recitals, 12PM

Saturday, November 12
Masterclass with Omer Quartet, 12PM
Woodwind Recital, 12PM
String Recitals, 12PM & 4PM
Cello Choir/YPO Concert, 8PM in Jordan Hall

Thursday, November 17
SCO/YS Concert, 7:30PM in Jordan Hall

Saturday, November 19
Piano Recitals, 12PM

Saturday, December 3
Children’s Choruses and Young Women's Chorale Concert, 3PM in Jordan Hall
Brass Workshop, 10AM
String Recitals, 12PM & 4PM

Saturday, December 10
YRO/JRO Concert, 1PM in Jordan Hall
Piano Recitals, 12PM

Friday, December 16
YJO Concert, 7PM in Brown Hall

Saturday, December 17
Jazz Recitals
Voice Recital, 11AM
String Recitals, 12PM & 4pm
Piano Seminar Recital
Winter Festival (STO Concert), 1PM in Jordan Hall
Winter Festival (PSO/SRO Concert), 2PM in Jordan Hall

Monday, December 19
MYWE Concert, 7:30PM in Jordan Hall

Tuesday, December 20
Jr MYWE/MYWE CB Concert, 7:30PM in Jordan Hall

Saturday, January 7
Jazz Recitals

Saturday, January 14
Jazz Recitals
Piano Recitals, 12PM

Saturday, January 21
Woodwind Recital, 12PM
CI Mash-up, 6PM in Pierce Hall

Sunday, January 22
Baroque Ensembles Concert, 11:30AM in Williams Hall

Sunday, January 29
Chamber Music Festival, 9-5PM in Pierce Hall, Williams Hall, Brown Hall & Keller Room
YRO/YPO Concerto Concert, 8PM in Jordan Hall

Friday, February 3
Contemporary Festival Masterclass at Walnut Hill

Saturday, February 4
Contemporary Festival
JRO/YS Concert, 12PM in Jordan Hall

Sunday, February 5
Contemporary Festival @ 300 Mass Ave.

Tuesday, February 7
SCO/Youth Chorale Concert, 7:30PM in Jordan Hall

Saturday, February 11
String Recitals, 12PM & 4PM
Brass Workshop, 10AM

Saturday, February 25
Piano Recitals, 12PM

Saturday, March 4
Brass Workshop, 10AM
String Recitals, 12PM & 4PM

Sunday, March 12
Joint MYWE Concert, 8PM in Jordan Hall

Saturday, March 18
NEC at WGBH Cartoon Festival
Voice Recital, 12PM
Piano Recitals, 12PM

Saturday, March 25
Woodwind Recital, 12PM
BrassFest!, 9AM in Pierce Hall
String Recitals, 12PM & 4PM

Sunday, March 26
27th Annual Composer’s Celebration Concert, 8PM in Jordan Hall

Saturday, April 1
Piano Recitals, 12PM

Saturday, April 8
String Recitals, 12PM & 4PM

Saturday, April 15
Piano Recitals, 12PM

Saturday, April 22
Voice Workshop, 12PM
String Recitals, 12PM & 4PM

Saturday, April 29
Brass Workshop, 10AM
Voice Recital, 12PM
Piano Recitals, 12PM

Sunday, April 30
YPO Concert, 8PM in Jordan Hall

Saturday, May 6
String Recitals, 12PM & 4PM

Sunday, May 7
Youth Brass Ensemble/Trombone Choir/Cello Choir Concert, 8PM in Jordan Hall

Wednesday, May 10
YJO Concert, 7:30PM in Jordan Hall

Thursday, May 18
YRO/JRO Concert, 7:30PM in Jordan Hall

Friday, May 19
YS Concert, 8PM in Jordan Hall

Saturday, May 20
Suzuki Cellos Concert, 12PM in Williams Hall
Piano Seminar Recital, 3PM in Keller Room
Jazz Recitals, in G01 & Pierce Hall

Tuesday, May 23
Sr MYWE Concert, 7:30PM in Jordan Hall

Wednesday, May 24
Chorus Concert, 7:30PM in Jordan Hall
Baroque Ensemble Concert, 7PM in Williams Hall

Thursday, May 25
Chamber Jordan Concert, 7:30PM in Jordan Hall

Saturday, May 27
Chamber Music Festival

Tuesday, May 30
Jr MYWE Concert, 7:30PM in Jordan Hall

Wednesday, May 31
MYWE CB Concert, 7:30PM in Jordan Hall

Saturday, June 3
Spring Festival (STO Concert), 1PM in Jordan Hall
Spring Festival (PSO/SRO Concert), 2PM in Jordan Hall

Back to top

Faculty Performances

Friday, October 14, 2016
8:30PM in Pierce Hall
Sam Ou, cello

Sunday, October 16, 2016
4PM in Williams Hall
Liana Zaretsky, violin

Sunday, October 23, 2016
8PM in Jordan Hall
Carol Ou, cello

Saturday, November 12, 2016
8PM in Williams Hall
Yoon-Wha Roh, piano

Saturday, January 14, 2017
8PM in Williams Hall
Yukiko Sekino, piano

Friday, January 20, 2017
8PM in Keller Room
Susanne Friedrich, cello

Wednesday, January 25, 2017
8PM in Williams Hall
Larry Bell

Sunday, February 5, 2017
8PM in Jordan Hall
Mana Tokuno, piano

Friday, March 3, 2017
8PM in Brown Hall
Clara Sandler, soprano

Sunday, April 9, 2017
4PM in Williams Hall
Sarah Takagi, piano

Sunday, June 4, 2017
8PM in Jordan Hall
Eugene Kim, cello

Tuesday, June 6, 2017
8PM in Williams Hall
Margaret McAllister

Back to top.

Masterclasses/Seminars

Recent guests have included cellists Laurence Lesser, Ralph Kirshbaum, Leslie Parnas, Colin Carr, and Orlando Cole; pianists Gilbert Kalish, Bruce Brubaker, Jerome Lowenthal, and Andras Schiff; singers Kathleen Kaun and Robert Honeysucker; violinists Eric Rosenblith and Zakhar Bron; violist Jeffrey Irvine; oboists Washington Barella and Wayne Rapier; flutists Sheryl Cohen and Keith Underwood; trumpeter Roger Voisin; trombonist Toby Oft; and bassists Gary Karr, John Clayton, and Paul Ellison.

NEC Masterclasses and Seminars

Back to top.

Jordan Hall

NEC is the only school of music to be designated a National Historic Landmark. One of Boston’s most celebrated concert halls, NEC’s historic Jordan Hall is considered to have one of the best acoustics in the world, with many of the world’s leading artists performing here regularly. Most of the large ensembles within the Preparatory School have the opportunity to perform in this inspiring venue. Every year nearly 600 NEC performances, most of which are free, take place in the Conservatory’s own concert halls and throughout Boston.

Back to top.

Concert Recordings

Many concerts by Preparatory School performing organizations are recorded. These recordings are available for class work and private listening and represent a major resource in all musical periods and styles. NEC reserves the right to use these recordings to promote the school and raise money for the scholarship fund. All students who participate in Conservatory performances and recordings release New England Conservatory from any obligation, financial or otherwise.

Back to top.

2016-09-21


WHY DO I LIKE THESE THINGS? ARE MY EARS ON WRONG? CHARLES IVES