2015-2016 NEC Prep Academic Calendar

 

August

Saturday, August 29, 2015
Prep Fall Placement Auditions
Large Ensemble Seating Auditions

Sunday, August 30, 2015
Prep Fall Placement Auditions
Large Ensemble Seating Auditions

September

Friday, September 4, 2015
Faculty Council meeting, 9:30-11AM (SB 309)

Monday, September 7, 2015
Labor Day-NEC offices closed

Friday, September 11, 2015
SR MYWE, MYWE CB & JR MYWE begin
Baroque Ensembles begin

Saturday, September 12, 2015
First day of Prep large ensemble rehearsals
Trial lessons
OPEN HOUSE 1-3PM

Saturday, September 19, 2015 (WEEK 1)
First day of Prep fall semester: classes (classical & jazz), lessons (classical) begin

Saturday, September 26, 2015 (WEEK 2)
Chamber music, Jazz ensembles, Jazz private lessons begin
Workshops: String (1)
Composition Competition applications due

Back to top.

October

Friday, October 2, 2015
Faculty Council Meeting, 9:30-11AM (SB 309)

Saturday, October 3, 2015 (WEEK 3)
Registration deadline: late fees after today
Workshops: Piano (1)
Recitals: Strings (1)

Saturday, October 10, 2015 (WEEK 4)
Workshops: String (2)
Brass/Woodwind (1)
Recitals: Piano (1)
Concerto Competition applications due

Monday, October 12, 2015
Columbus Day- NEC offices closed

Saturday, October 17, 2015 (WEEK 5)
Workshops: Piano (2)
Recitals: String (2)
Brass/Woodwind: (1)

Saturday, October 24, 2015 (WEEK 6)
Workshops: String (3)
Recitals: Piano (2)

Saturday, October 31, 2015 (WEEK 7)
Workshops: Piano (3)
Recitals: String (3)

Back to top.

November

Sunday, November 1, 2015
Concerto Competition Prelims, 9AM-5PM
Composer Competition parts due (winner)
YS dress rehearsal, 7-10PM in Jordan Hall

Thursday, November 5, 2015
YS Concert, 7:30pm in Jordan Hall

Friday, November 6, 2015
Faculty Council Meeting, 9:30-11AM (SB 309)

Saturday, November 7, 2015 (WEEK 8)
Workshops: String (4)
Recitals: Piano (3)

Saturday, November 14, 2015 (WEEK 9)
YPO Concert, 8pm in Jordan Hall
Workshops: Piano (4)
Recitals: String (4)
Brass/Woodwind: (2)

Friday, November 20, 2015
YC Concert, 8pm at Church of the Covenant

Saturday, November 21, 2015 (WEEK 10)
Workshops: String (5)
Recitals: Piano (4)
Brass/Woodwind (2)

November 25-29 (THANKSGIVING BREAK)
No Prep activities, Prep office closed

Back to top.

December

Friday, December 4, 2015
MYWE CB/TC Concert, 8pm in Brown Hall
Faculty Council Meeting, 9:30-11AM (SB 309)

Saturday, December 5, 2015 (WEEK 11)
Workshops: Piano (5)
Recitals: String (5)

Sunday, December 6, 2015 (WEEK 12)
YRO/JRO Concert, 3pm in Jordan Hall
YPO Concert, 8pm in Jordan Hall

Saturday, December 12, 2015
SCO/YBE Concert, 1pm in Jordan Hall
CC Concert, 12pm in Williams Hall
Workshops: String (6)
Recitals: Piano (5)

Monday, December 14, 2015
MYWE Concert, 7:30pm in Jordan Hall

Thursday, December 17, 2015
Prep Winter Chamber Music forms due

Friday, December 18, 2015
YJO Concert, 7:30pm in Brown Hall
Prep progress reports due: studio, classes and chamber (no jazz)

Saturday, December 19, 2015 (WEEK 13)
STO/PSO/SRO Concert, 1pm in Jordan Hall
YPO/YS rehearsals
Voice Recital, 2pm in Pierce Hall
Jazz Recitals
Recitals: String (6)

Sunday, December 20, 2015
Prep Piano Seminar Concert (time/place TBD)
Suzuki Festival (time/place TBD)

Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Jr MYWE Concert, 7:30pm in Jordan Hall

December 24-January 4
Prep Winter Break: no classes, lessons or rehearsals

Back to top.

January

Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Prep office reopens

Friday, January 8, 2016
SR & JR MYWE, MYWE CB and Friday Baroque Ensembles resume

Saturday, January 9, 2016 (WEEK 14)
Jazz Recitals
Workshops: Piano (6)

Saturday, January 16, 2016 (WEEK 15)
CI Mash-Up, 6pm in Pierce Hall
Jazz Recitals
Workshops: Strings (7)
Recitals: Piano (6)

Monday, January 18, 2016
Martin Luther King Jr. Day- NEC offices closed

Saturday, January 23, 2016 (WEEK 16)
First day of Prep Spring Semester
Workshops: Piano Duo and Chamber Music
Brass/Woodwind (3)

Saturday, January 30, 2016 (WEEK 17)
Workshops: Piano (7)
Recitals: Strings (7)
Brass/Woodwind (3)

Sunday, January 31, 2016
Chamber Music Festival, 9-5pm in Pierce Hall, Williams Hall, Brown Hall and Keller
Baroque Ensembles Concert, 11am in Williams Hall
Concerto Concert (YS, YRO, JRO), 8pm in Jordan Hall

Back to top.

February

Thursday, February 4, 2016
YPO with YC dress rehearsal, 6-9PM in Jordan Hall

Friday, February 5, 2016
Contemporary Festival
Faculty Council meeting, 9-11:30AM (SB 309)
Contemporary Festival

Saturday, February 6, 2016 (WEEK 18)
Contemporary Festival
Recitals: Piano (7)
NO CHAMBER REHEARSALS

Sunday, February 7, 2016
Contemporary Festival
YPO with YC Concert, 3pm in Jordan Hall

Saturday, February 13, 2016
Prep Winter Vacation: No classes, lessons or rehearsals
Prep office closed

Saturday, February 15, 2016
Presidents' Day: NEC offices closed

Saturday, February 20, 2016 (WEEK 19)
Workshops: String (8)

Saturday, February 27, 2016 (WEEK 20)
Workshops: Piano (8)
Recitals: Strings (8)
Faculty Recital Applications due

Back to top.

March

Friday, March 4, 2016
Faculty Council meeting, 9:30-11AM (SB 309)

Saturday, March 5, 2016 (WEEK 21)
Workshops: Piano (9)
Recitals: String (9)
Open House 1-3PM
First day to schedule May (required) student reictals

Saturday, March 12, 2016
Spring Break: no classes, lessons, rehearsals or ensembles
Prep office closed

Sunday, March 13, 2016
26th Annual Composer's Celebration Concert, 8pm in Jordan Hall

Saturday, March 19, 2016 (WEEK 22)
Workshops: Strings (10)
Woodwind/Brass (4)
Recitals: Piano (9)

Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Prep evaluation forms distributed (electronically) to faculty

Saturday, March 26, 2016 (WEEK 23)
Workshops: Piano (10)
Recitals: String (10)
Woodwind/Brass (4)
First day to schedule May (non-required) student spring recitals and studio recitals

Back to top.

April

Friday, April 1, 2016
Faculty Council meeting, 9:30-11AM (SB 309)

Saturday, April 2, 2016 (WEEK 24)
Workshops: String (11)
Recitals: Piano (10)

Saturday, April 9, 2016 (WEEK 25)
Workshops: Piano (11)
Recitals: Strings (11)

Saturday, April 16, 2016 (WEEK 26)
Workshops: String (12)
Recitals: Piano (11)

Monday, April 18, 2016
Patriots Day

Saturday, April 23, 2016 (WEEK 27)
Workshops: Piano (12)
Recitals: Strings (12)

Saturday, April 30, 2016 (WEEK 28)
Recitals: Piano (12)
Jazz evaluation day

Back to top.

May

Friday, May 6, 2016
Faculty Council meeting, 9:30-11AM (SB 309)

Saturday, May 7, 2016 (WEEK 29)
Evaluation day: no provate lessons, chamber music, or piano seminar
Faculty Appreciation Luncheon in Keller Room

Sunday, May 8, 2016
YBE/TC Concert, 8pm in Jordan Hall

Wednesday, May 11, 2016
YJO Concert, 7:30pm in Jordan Hall

Thursday, May 12, 2016
YS dress rehearsal, 6-9PM in Jordan Hall

Saturday, May 14, 2016 (WEEK 30)
Jazz recitals in G01, Keller Room
Voice Recital, 12-3PM in Pierce Hall

Sunday, May 15, 2016
Choral Concert (with CC), 2pm in Jordan Hall
YS Concert, 7:30pm in Jordan Hall

Saturday, May 21, 2016
Piano Seminar Recital, 4pm in Williams Hall
Workshops: Chamber and Piano Duos
Jazz Recitals
Make-up lessons and classes

Monday, May 23, 2016
Jr MYWE/MYWE CB Concert, 7:30pm in Jordan Hall

Tuesday, May 24, 2016
YRO dress rehearsal, 5-8PM in Jordan Hall

Wednesday, May 25, 2016
YC Concert, 8pm in Jordan Hall
Baroque Ensemble Concert, 7pm in Williams Hall

Thursday, May 26, 2016
YRO/JRO Concert, 7pm in Jordan Hall

Friday, May 27, 2016
Sr MYWE Concert, 8pm in Jordan Hall
CI Mash-Up, 7pm in Pierce Hall

Saturday, May 28, 2016
Chamber Music Festival

Tuesday, May 31, 2016
SCO/Chamber Concert, 8pm in Jordan Hall

Back to top.

June

Wednesday, June 1, 2016
YPO dress rehearsal, 6-9PM in Jordan Hall

Saturday, June 4, 2016
STO/PSO/SRO Concert, 12:30pm in Jordan Hall
Suzuki Recital, 4pm in Brown Hall
YPO Concert, 8pm in Jordan Hall

June 3, 10, 17 & 24
MYWE Tour Rehearsal

Back to top.

2015-07-21


WITHOUT CRAFTSMANSHIP, INSPIRATION IS A MERE REED SHAKEN IN THE WIND. JOHANNES BRAHMS