September 2016

Monday, September 5
Labor Day NEC Offices Closed

Thursday, September 8 – Sunday, September 11
Prep Fall Placement Auditions
Large Ensemble Seating Auditions

Friday, September 16
Sr MYWE, Jr MYWE, MYWE CB begin
Friday Baroque Ensembles begin

Saturday, September 17
First Day of Prep Fall Semester
Classical and CI Ensemble Rehearsals classes and lessons
Jazz Classes begin

Saturday, September 24
Jazz Ensembles Begin
Woodwind Workshop, 12PM
String Workshops, 12PM & 4PM

October 2016

Saturday, October 1
Jazz Lessons Begin
Chamber music rehearsals start
Woodwind Recital, 12PM
String Recitals, 12PM & 4PM
Piano Workshop, 12PM
Registration Deadline: late fees incurred after today

Saturday, October 8
Brass Workshop, 10AM
String Workshops, 12PM & 4PM
Piano Recitals, 12PM

Saturday, October 15
Prep Concerto Competition Applications Due
Voice Recital, 12PM
String Recital, 12PM & 4PM
Piano Workshops, 12PM

Saturday, October 29
Brass Workshop, 10AM
String Recitals, 12PM & 4PM
Piano Workshops, 12PM

November 2016

Saturday, November 5
Youth Chorale with CSO Concert, 8PM at Kresge Auditorium
Woodwind Workshop, 12PM
String Workshops, 12PM & 4PM
Piano Recitals, 12PM

Sunday, November 6
Concerto Competition Preliminaries, 9AM-5PM

Saturday, November 12
Masterclass with Omer Quartet, 12PM
Woodwind Recital, 12PM
String Recitals, 12PM & 4PM
Piano Workshops, 12PM
Cello Choir/YPO Concert, 8PM in Jordan Hall

Sunday, November 13
Concerto Competition Finals, 9AM-5PM

Thursday, November 17
SCO/YS Concert, 7:30PM in Jordan Hall

Saturday, November 19
String Workshops, 12PM & 4PM
Piano Recitals, 12PM

Wednesday, November 23 – Sunday, November 27
Thanksgiving Vacation No Prep Events, Classes, Lessons or Rehearsals

December 2016

Saturday, December 3
Children’s Choruses and Young Women's Chorale Concert, 3PM in Jordan Hall
Brass Workshop, 10AM
Voice Workshop, 12PM
String Recitals, 12PM & 4PM
Piano Workshops, 12PM

Saturday, December 10
YRO/JRO Concert, 1PM in Jordan Hall
String Workshops, 12PM & 4PM
Piano Recitals, 12PM

Friday, December 16
Prep Studio Progress Reports Due
Prep Winter Chamber Music Forms Due
YJO Concert, 7PM in Brown Hall

Saturday, December 17
Jazz Recitals
Voice Recital, 11AM
String Recitals, 12PM & 4pm
Piano Seminar Recital
Winter Festival (STO Concert), 1PM in Jordan Hall
Winter Festival (PSO/SRO Concert), 2PM in Jordan Hall

Monday, December 19
MYWE Concert, 7:30PM in Jordan Hall

Tuesday, December 20
Jr MYWE/MYWE CB Concert, 7:30PM in Jordan Hall

Thursday, December 22 – Friday, January 6
Winter Vacations No Prep classes, lessons, or rehearsals

Back to top

January 2017

Saturday, January 7
Jazz Recitals
Piano Workshops, 12PM

Friday, January 13
Sr MYWE, Jr MYWE, MYWE CB and Friday Baroque Ensembles resume

Saturday, January 14
Jazz Recitals
Woodwind Workshop, 12PM
Piano Recitals, 12PM

Saturday, January 21
Woodwind Recital, 12PM
CI Mash-up, 6PM in Pierce Hall

Sunday, January 22
Baroque Ensembles Concert, 11:30AM in Williams Hall

Saturday, January 28
Prep Spring Semester Begins
String Workshops, 12PM & 4PM

Sunday, January 29
Chamber Music Festival, 9-5PM in Pierce Hall, Williams Hall, Brown Hall & Keller Room
YRO/YPO Concerto Concert, 8PM in Jordan Hall

February 2017

Friday, February 3
Contemporary Festival Masterclass at Walnut Hill

Saturday, February 4
Contemporary Festival
JRO/YS Concert, 12PM in Jordan Hall
No Chamber Music Rehearsals

Sunday, February 5
Contemporary Festival @ 300 Mass Ave.

Tuesday, February 7
SCO/Youth Chorale Concert, 7:30PM in Jordan Hall

Saturday, February 11
String Recitals, 12PM & 4PM
Brass Workshop, 10AM
Piano Workshops, 12PM

Saturday, February 18
Prep Winter Vacation – No classes, lessons or rehearsals

Saturday, February 25
String Workshops, 12PM & 4PM
Piano Recitals, 12PM

March 2017

Saturday, March 4
Brass Workshop, 10AM
Voice Workshop, 12PM
String Recitals, 12PM & 4PM
Piano Workshops, 12PM & 4PM

Saturday, March 11
Prep Spring Break – No classes, lessons, rehearsals or ensembles

Sunday, March 12
Joint MYWE Concert, 8PM in Jordan Hall

Saturday, March 18
NEC at WGBH Cartoon Festival
Voice Recital, 12PM
Woodwind Workshop, 12PM
String Workshops, 12PM & 4PM
Piano Recitals, 12PM

Tuesday, March 21
Prep Evaluation Forms Distributed to faculty (electronically)

Saturday, March 25
Woodwind Recital, 12PM
BrassFest!, 9AM in Pierce Hall
String Recitals, 12PM & 4PM
Piano Workshops, 12PM
First Date for scheduling May Non-required Prep Student Spring Recitals and Studio Recitals

Sunday, March 26
27th Annual Composer’s Celebration Concert, 8PM in Jordan Hall

April 2017

Saturday, April 1
String Workshops, 12PM & 4PM
Piano Recitals, 12PM

Saturday, April 8
String Recitals, 12PM & 4PM
Piano Workshops, 12PM

Saturday, April 15
String Workshops, 12PM & 4PM
Piano Recitals, 12PM

Saturday, April 22
Voice Workshop, 12PM
String Recitals, 12PM & 4PM
Piano Workshops, 12PM

Saturday, April 29
Brass Workshop, 10AM
Voice Recital, 12PM
String Workshops, 12PM &4PM
Piano Recitals, 12PM

Sunday, April 30
YPO Concert, 8PM in Jordan Hall

May 2017

Saturday, May 6
Jazz Evaluation Day
String Recitals, 12PM & 4PM

Sunday, May 7 – Friday, May 19
Prep Large Ensemble Auditions

Sunday, May 7
Youth Brass Ensemble/Trombone Choir/Cello Choir Concert, 8PM in Jordan Hall

Wednesday, May 10
YJO Concert, 7:30PM in Jordan Hall

Saturday, May 13
Evaluation Day – No private lessons, chamber music, piano seminar (Jazz classes/lessons etc. run as usual)
Faculty Appreciation Lunch in Keller Room

Thursday, May 18
YRO/JRO Concert, 7:30PM in Jordan Hall

Friday, May 19
YS Concert, 8PM in Jordan Hall

Saturday, May 20
Suzuki Cellos Concert, 12PM in Williams Hall
Piano Seminar Recital, 3PM in Keller Room
Jazz Recitals, in G01 & Pierce Hall

Tuesday, May 23
Sr MYWE Concert, 7:30PM in Jordan Hall

Wednesday, May 24
Chorus Concert, 7:30PM in Jordan Hall
Baroque Ensemble Concert, 7PM in Williams Hall

Thursday, May 25
Chamber Jordan Concert, 7:30PM in Jordan Hall

Saturday, May 27
Chamber Music Festival

Tuesday, May 30
Jr MYWE Concert, 7:30PM in Jordan Hall

Wednesday, May 31
MYWE CB Concert, 7:30PM in Jordan Hall

June 2017

Saturday, June 3
Graduation
Spring Festival (STO Concert), 1PM in Jordan Hall
Spring Festival (PSO/SRO Concert), 2PM in Jordan Hall

Back to top

2016-09-21


WHY DO I LIKE THESE THINGS? ARE MY EARS ON WRONG? CHARLES IVES