Welcome to Class Notes online—a space for you to post your news and read about your classmates' recent activities.

Submit a Class Note | Find details on how to submit a Class Note.

News from your classmates


George Preston '89 M.M. hosts the Afternoon Drive show at 98.7WFMT in Chicago and hosts and produces broadcasts from Lyric Opera of Chicago. He formerly worked at WNYC, New York City's primary NPR affiliate, where he served as Music Director, supervising the music staff and producing a wide array of live concert broadcasts, festivals, and specials. Prior to that, he hosted the station's Overnight Music program from 2000-2003. A native of West Virginia, he holds music degrees from Oberlin Conservatory, New England Conservatory, and Boston University. He accidentally fell into a broadcast career some 25 years ago at WXCR, Safety Harbor, Florida, a commercial classical station serving the Tampa Bay market. He worked at WBUR in Boston for 11 years as a program host and producer, Music Director, and Assistant Program Director. At home, George keeps busy with his four-year old twins.  2012-05-07

Emily Laurance '89 M.M.Emily Laurance '89 M.M, Harp Performance, received her PhD in Musicology from UNC-Chapel Hill in 2003.  She is the recipient of the Glen Haydon Outstanding Dissertation award.  While at Chapel Hill she was very active as a professional harpist and was harpist for the professional Opera Companies in Durham and Raleigh, the Carolina Ballet Theater and the North Carolina Theater.  She also served on the faculties of UNC-Chapel Hill and Duke as a harp instructor. Emily and tenor Thomas Gregg began performing together in 1999; in 2000 specializing in a little-known repertoire of song with harp accompaniment published in the late 18th and early 19th centuries.  As performers, their work has led to several residencies and concert appearances as well as lecture-recitals at many national conferences, including the American Harp Society, the American Musicological Society, the Library of Congress and the Society for American Music. Emily is currently professor of Music History and Literature at the San Francisco Conservatory of Music.  2012-01-27

Elaine Kwon '89 M.M.Elaine Kwon '89 M.M. was the feature of a the documentary based on a concert she gave at Carnegie Hall with the New York Chamber Virtuosi.  It was a 30 minute feature that aired on the documentary series, "Dream It: You are the Next Generation" (Arirang TV/RK Media), several times this past year to 89 million households internationally. Here are links to edited versions:
14 min:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UK526NoQku4
4 min:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e5WCV_ySdq4  2012-01-26

Néstor M. Pou-Rivera '89 DP, '90 has been a twenty-year member of Orquesta Sinfonica de Castilla y Leon (OSCYL) in Valladolid, Spain, Recently they performed a gala concert with legendary soprano Renée Fleming, under the direction of Maestro Miguel Harth-Bedoya. They are Dianne Winsor '81 M.M., Principal Flute; Marius Diaz '90 M.M., '91 G.D., Principal Cello; Jennifer Moreau '85, '87 M.M., Principal 2nd Violin; Néstor M. Pou-Rivera '89 DP, '90 Principal Viola; Robert Blossom '84, Asst. Principal Trombone; José Redondo '99 M.M., Tuba; Emad Ali Khan '05, bass. The program included works by Barber, Puccini and Strauss. The Orquestra was founded in 1991 and six of the seven NEC alumni are founding members.  OSCYL, with all seven NEC alumni playing, has just released its first cd on the Deutsche Grammophon label, titled "Nazareno", featuring Katia & Marielle Labeque as soloists.  At the end of March, Marius Diaz and Néstor. M. Pou-Rivera will perform Don Quixote with the orchestra conducted by Lionel Bringuier.  2012-01-24

Dr. Brian Farias ’89 M.M., Clarinet Performance, recently received his Doctor of Musical Arts degree from Rutgers University, Mason Gross School of the Arts in Clarinet Performance.  Brian is living in Raleigh, NC and working for the Wake County Public Schools as a music teacher, teaching privately, and freelancing in the Raleigh area. 2011-04-26

Ian Pepper ’89 successfully defended his PhD dissertation “The Difference between Serialism and Seriality” with the Department of Art History at Columbia University in New York City in October 2010.  Ian lives in Berlin, Germany, where he is a freelance translator and works for museums throughout the German-speaking world.  While at NEC, Ian studied flute with Lois Schaefer and Fenwick Smith. 2010-12-23

Violist Katrin Gilbert ’89 M.M., is the artist tutor for a new series of workshop classes based upon the Colourstrings method at mac. Katrin currently teaches violin and viola for the Warwickshire County Music Service, regularly conducting junior and adult ensembles. She performed as viola soloist for the Stratford -upon Avon Symphony Orchestra in December 2009. 2010-12-16


Michael Burns '89 M.M., Bassoon PerformanceMichael Burns ’89 M.M. has released a new CD on the Mark Masters label entitled Primavera: Music for Bassoon and Piano by Bassoonists. The CD features the premiere recordings of works by John Steinmetz, Michael Burns, David Kriby, Ray Pizzi, and Ronald Klimko.  All of the composers are living in the US and Burns travelled to meet with each to take a lesson on their piece and interview them. The CD has gained critical acclaim in the Double Reed and is available from Amazon.com and other double reed suppliers. Burns currently lives in Greensboro, NC where he is the Associate Professor of Bassoon at the University of NC at Greensboro and a Yamaha Performing Artist. 2010-08-20 




Help find your lost classmates

Unfortunately, NEC has lost touch with some of your classmates. If you have e-mail or other contact information for any of the people listed below, please let us know so that we can keep them informed of reunions and other NEC activities.

Randolph Welles Alexander, Arthur A. Alonzo, Jean Angliviel, Leslie Eudora Baker, Sara Beth Berry, Armando Angel Capote, Claire M. Carmody, Francisco Castaneda, Danielle Conway Chiel, Muriel Corradini, Bradley Dean Cresswell, Almudena Delang, Eric N. Delson, Kent William Forman, Hella Johanna Frank, Adrian Frey, Alejandra Claudina Gaete, Hulda Geirlaugsdottir, Sigridur Hulda Geirlaugsdottir, Sin Kiak Samuel Goh, Sin Kiak Goh, Edward M. Hagarty, Monica Hatch, Hee Jae Im, Heejae Im, Kay Johannsen, Allan Malcolm Kennedy, Kyung-Jin Lee, Hakon Leifsson, Edgardo Malaga, Natalie Claire Morgenstern, Hojoon Park, Jesus Delfin Perez, Valerie Pley, Michael Phillip Price, Colleen C. Ratey, Annelisa E. Schneider, Connie J. Schultz, Wesley T. Selby, Edith Maretzki Soares, Agus Soetanto, Anna E. Soranno, Katharina Wolff Stern, Akiko Takahashi, Olla Olof Thorvardsdottir, Kanae Togi, Atsuko Tsuruta, Chisun Wang, Paulo Malaguti Weglinski.