NEC’s Board of Trustees is a select group of supporters who advocate for NEC’s cultural and educational mission, objective, standing in the community, and general well being. The Board oversees the Administration, led by the President, as it establishes the mission for the institution, determines corresponding strategies and policies, and from time to time revises the long-range plan.

The Board of Trustees is responsible for governing the resources of the institution, including the evaluation and approval of an annual budget, the investment results of the endowment, fundraising successes and challenges, Trustee and Overseer nominations, and the academic results and standing of the institution. Trustees and Overseers serve jointly on standing and advisory committees devoted to broad areas of institutional support as well as to specific projects.

NEC Board of Trustees FY2015
Kennett F. Burnes, Chair
Thomas W. Blumenthal, Vice Chair and Treasurer
Peter C. Erichsen, Secretary
Tony Woodcock, President
Elected Trustees
Steven P. Akin
Michael J. Anderson
Clint Bajakian
Thomas W. Blumenthal
Barbara de Bragança
Kennett F. Burnes
Deborah Bennett Elfers ’82
Peter C. Erichsen
Alan P. Ett ’78 M.M.
Corinne Ferguson
Timothy Fulham
Eric A. Gray
Eloise W. Hodges
Nancy Noble Holland ’95 M.M.
Saj-nicole A. Joni
Justin Lindsey
John M. Loder
Thomas B. McGrath
E. Lee Perry
Patrick M. Prevost
Peter Ross
Norton Q. Sloan
Thurmond Smithgall '71
Michael Thonis
Jennifer Uhrig
Joan H. Yogg
Ex Officio Trustee
Susan K. Reed, Chair, Board of Overseers
Life Trustees
Joseph L. Bower
Blair Brown
Carroll L. Cabot
Gene D. Dahmen
Stephen Friedlaender
Samuel L. Hayes III
Carol T. Henderson
John L. Hornor ’53, ’55 M.M., ’57 A.D.
Richard P. Morse
Katharine M. Pell
Harold I. Pratt
David W. Scudder ’03 hon. D.M.
Wendy Shattuck ’75
Prudence L. Steiner
James L. Terry ’93 hon. D.M.
Jack H. Vernon